Dark Wood -- Oil painting in progress

in #art7 years ago

when I left.JPG

As I work on a few other paintings that have a deadline I like to slowly chuck away at my more personal pieces whilst waiting for paint to dry a bit on the others, I'm always juggling many projects. This is one that is nearing completion and it's been a long time coming as it's always been one that I work on infrequently. All I will say is this was part of the series I started when I got a divorce.

I hope you enjoy this peek into my messy painting room full of pieces​ becoming!

Oil on board and rather large, five feet tall I think, it's been so long since I cut and prepped this board.

Sort:  

It’s delightfully creepy! I especially like the expression on the figure’s face on the right. Are they painting?

Thank you, dear. <3

I always let the viewer decide what is going on. ;)

I really love this piece, it's got great presence in a room and that is always something I strive for.

The portrayal of the frighteningly painful and unspeakable overflows from the forms and faces providing for a haunting, dynamic work of art. I like the way the figures are bound and bleed together, surviving within the space, surrounded by screaming stark cold.

JP, do you recall when this was started back in IL? What a journey!

Thank you, dearest JP, I truly appreciate every bit of feedback​ -- I wish we could still be sharing a studio space, listening to music, a beer, you posing for me, or painting​ with me, what a grand time it was. <3

So long ago, but yes I do remember. This painting in particular has really transformed from my memory. Always a time I cherish and yearn for, to be making art with you Nini

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60