My first commission for a Steemit client COMPLETED! #STEEMPUB

in #art7 years ago (edited)

steempubmockup.png

Hey guys, thanks for joining me today. Happy Wednesday!

So, about a week ago, I was approached by @thewineman for a logo design.

The logo was for SteemPub. A new tag for kinds of Adult beverage recipes. So it was pretty exciting to work on something like this.

The major goals for the project were to communicate a fun friendly vibe, Vintage, and related to steemit. Emphasis on cartoon like. Also to communicate something hip and happening, like a party.

So, this is what I came up with.

Logo Previews.png

I tried to communicate a scene of when you go to a bar. Drinks are lined up on a bar table, and everyone is seated having drinks and shots while people play pool in the back.

There was a need for a cartoon flavor, so I used a minimalist approach. Using very basic shapes to compose the majority of things. And then stroke with a dark brown. The dark brown I used helps with communicating a rustic and Vintage feeling. As does the overall shape, as many vintage logos have a round-ish shape to them. The overall shape though mimics a jukebox, that was intended, But also has elements that make it look like what you would see at bar table. It's a surprisingly clever composition.

Personally, I kind of like it because it hits all of the clients major goals. The only thing that I feel slightly off on is the fact that there are a lot of things going on in the composition. I explained to the client that it's not so much of a logo, but more of an illustrative graphic.

The client is cool with it though and loves it. So if the client loves it, I'm happy.

Under the pretty exterior of this design.

Illustrations are cool and all, but everything needs to be aligned and proportioned. At least with me it does.

Well, that's all I have for now. Thanks for visiting my post. If you guys like what I'm doing, please if you can, upvote and resteem. It all counts and helps me contribute all sorts of amazing content for steemit.

Sort:  

Wow, excellent design! Well done.
I can't wait to see what the steempub logo is used for.
I know now who to approach if I need a logo creating =)

I am. Sure, I haven't used Discord much, but I can give it a whirl, but not tonight; it's almost midnight here.

THIS LOOKS GREAT!!! Thank you so much for your help, it is better than I imagined it i my head. You rock!!

Thanks for ordering this man, great idea.

I think that steempub deserves something awesome like this!

Cool, great job!

Look at our progress: https://steemit.com/growth-projects/@steemgigs/steemit-growth-projects-steemgigs-bringing-the-beauty-of-the-steem-blockchain-and-decentralization-to-the-limelight-using-fun

And someone on one our resteemed posts for today, needs a graphic designer! Join our discord server too!

Joined the discord server!

Filled the quip doc too

I'm just really amazed that someone can make a post, do really well, and then turn around and hire a graphics designer like me. Steemit is building up an economy within the community. Absolutely amazing!

Based on the requirements, you really nailed the design. Very modern.

So when are you gonna let me finally hire you?

very cool logo @malicred! @michellectv already started using the steempub tag on her yummy margarita post last week too!

Look forward to seeing what other plans @thewineman has "up his sleeve" for it!

Using steemit in an innovative way....Looks great..Great job

Good luck with your good information.Thank you.

Wow! That logo is awesome! And I'm curious about the "steempub" tag... Uhmmm... Maybe I will be around there (¬u¬)

You should check it out! Lots of beer and wine reviews, cocktail recipes, home brew guy's, and winery tours! It's the new cool thing in Steemit!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94