Animated Artwork - Rainbow Eclipse - by MagicCleatus

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Rainbow eclipse thumbnail.png

AA Separator.png

Hello Steemians,
Here is the first in a brand new series of posts called 'Animated Artwork'. This series will included some of my old artwork brought to life with animation as well as some new creations too! It will be a fairly infrequent series due to the time it takes to imagine and create motion within the pictures.

To begin the series I have animated my 'Digital Eclipse' original artwork from a few months ago.

I made the 'nebula' in the background fade between the colours of the rainbow, after that I created a twinkle for both the far away and the close stars, this was done by making them slightly fade in opposite directions by increasing/decreasing the opacity of them in each frame.
For the eclipse itself, I made the 'horizon glare' and 'light flare' fade in and out slowly, this was achieved in a similar fashion to the stars.
Finally I added rotation to the 'solar flare' by using the transform tool, rotating the flare by 0.25° for each consecutive frame.
Each moving part was isolated to their own animation image-set and then imported into Krita as individual animation layers that play on top of one another. A total of 1,056 frames, compressed down to 176 frames into a high definition 7.3 second GIF.

Below is the end result:
Please allow all of the frames to fully load so that the animation plays smoothly. It takes approximately 1 minute.

Rainbow Eclipse Final.gif
Click/Touch the image to view the fullsize 1080p image!


Here is a video of the piece for those struggling to load the gif.

AA Separator.png

Everything, from the drawing to the animation, was done on Krita. Using my Huion Inspiroy Q11K graphics tablet. Many layers, tools and functions of Krita were also used. It is in my opinion the best free illustration software for Desktops.

This piece is also my first entry to the #steemitartcentre Gallery, created by @deemarshall. A great place to share your artwork with the community, discuss opinions on famous artists & art styles, learn about aspiring steemit artists and discover great art contests!

I hope you have all enjoyed the debut of the Animated Artwork series.

AA Separator.png



Don't forget to check out the colouring contest I'm running:

Sort:  

Great new series. I am impressed you have the time to juggle everything, contest and all!!

The animation on the eclipse is very effective yet also subtle enough to not irritate the eye. Your attention to detail is appreciated. You clearly love what you do and it shows! Great work @magiccleatus :)

Beautiful Eclipse @magiccleatus, the realism is awsome. Thank you so much for sharing my friend ❣️

Thank you very much @lildebbiecakes! I tried to make the space seem as realistic as possible. I've always enjoy starring into space, physically, figuratively and metaphorically. :D

Great artwork my friend. Upvoted and resteemed

Thanks you @bekirsolak, much appreciated!

Beautiful artwork. And yes, I agree with you on Krita being the best free illustration and painting software. :)

Thanks so much! Krita has revolutionized digital creation for me, I love it!

Wow what an epic project @magiccleatus! You have excelled yourself truly!
I love the Steemit Art Centre project by @deemarshall. She always has an eye for quality. 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

Thank you so much for your lovely comments!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61