My latest portrait was painted in secret as part of a conspiracy. Now it's okay to share

in #art6 years ago

Mary_Douglas_ey.jpg

Several months ago, the fiance of an old friend sent me a message. She wanted to give her partner an awesome birthday present, and had decided that a commissioned oil portrait of pioneering anthropologist Dame Mary Douglas would be just the ticket. So my old friend's fiance and I began a secret correspondence to work out all the details.
Mary_Douglas_lstart.jpg
The idea was for me to paint something that would go with a portrait of William James I had done for this friend some years ago, which he highly values. While my client poked around her fiance's office for clues as to what exactly he admired about Douglas, I worked out a composition and basic sketch.
Mary_Douglas_sk.jpg
While my client took a picture of the William James portrait to give me a clear idea of what frame to buy for the new work, I started laying down paint. A few dabs here and there at first, followed by some background and feature-defining shadows.
Mary_Douglas_light.jpg
As the final work began taking shape, I started taking liberties with the brushwork that built up texture and suggested a measure of playfulness that I imagined accompanied Douglas while doing her fieldwork all those years ago.
Mary_Douglas_close.jpg
And before I knew it, I was putting the final touches on the piece, framing it, and sending it off to Boston.
Mary_Douglas_fin.jpg
Then came the challenging part - waiting for my old friend's birthday. When it arrived, I sent him the usual greeting, and waited to hear back. I waited five days, which was just long enough to get me wondering if the surprise gift had somehow flopped.

Finally, at around midnight on the fifth day, I got a text which read: "Soooo....pretty cool painting of Mary Douglas!! Thanks man!!"

So everything had worked out as planned. And I was now free to post about painting this portrait on steemit without introducing the possibility that my friend would happen upon a picture of his big surprise before he'd received it.

Sort:  

I love the idea of a portrait painted for the sake of a conspiracy, and may develop the idea into a narrative... kind of Grand Budapest Hotel with more conspiracy, I imagine. (Nothing like The Da Vinci Code is what I really want to emphasize.)

Cool. Even though painting this portrait was exactly like being in a real life version of The Da Vinci Code, Grand Budapest Hotel was a much better movie.

Damn good art.

Fantastic use of texture in the final version. Bravo, mio amico! Bravo.

Thanks, @riotdog!

Very nice portrait. I assume that's acrylic?

Oil, actually. And thanks!

Really? Wow.

I like oils, but haven't painted in quite awhile. I made the mistake of choosing oil over acrylic in college and, while other students were able to finish in a day, I had to wait forever between coats. Even with galkyd.

Love the impressionist style of that portrait. Life drawing / painting wasn't easy for me, so I appreciate it that much more :-)

Right on. Every time I've tried to use acrylics they dry too fast and look wrong when blended. Oils are way easier: )

Dear @mada, you have officially been nominated to win some SBD for being a fantastic artist, and a stand up guy in general. You can find out who nominated you here: https://steemit.com/art/@flaccidfervor/name-drop-showdown-sbd-giveaway as well as nominate your favorite Steemit artist for an ADDITIONAL chance to win. The entire post payout is divided equally among the winning team of nominator and nominated.

Mada, sweet work man!

Nice work with the art but even better job keeping that beautiful piece a secret! I have a big mouth and love to share (some would even say gossip-whore), so I admire the commitment to secrecy for the ultimate benefit of a friend.

That's what I was thinking! Secrets are the hardest to keep. Especially a good one like this. A bit easier though when you are not face to face with them at some point before the reveal. Cool stuff Mada!

Keeping secrets doesn't come naturally to me either. Especially when they span months. But in this instance it was totally worth it: )

Thanks for sharing the story and your artistic process! I enjoy painting as well, although I haven't painted in a loooooong time. Living in Minneapolis there are lots of great artists and art events. Following you and looking forward to more of your creations :)

Dear Artist @mada ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists and art lovers on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54