Mind jumping

in #art6 years ago


Brain - watercolor/ink, “decent sized brain” size of my palm, hehe

One of the greatest mysteries of life is the human mind. What’s hidden in our mind mazes? What makes us who we are? Are we really that different and unique from one another? How can we know? We live and experience this life trough only ourselves as the point of reference.

The closest thing we have understanding each other is maybe empathy. The ability to try and imagine how one might feel going through different experiences and situations in life. Is it very accurate? Definitely not. Can it be tricked, misguided and misunderstood? Absolutely. We will probably never grasp ourselves fully and others well pretty much impossible. We are held captive within our own minds for now.

Let’s imagine though for a moment that at some point in the future, we managed to figure out a way to tap into the minds of others. What would it do to the understanding of ourselves? All of a sudden we would be truly able to see the difference between me and you. Would this understanding then alter the way we experience things? Somehow I can see it enriching our own views of life and make us less fearful and doubtful of our abilities and potential.

Whose minds do I wish I could tap into? Be them for a day, witness their code of essence and patterns of thinking? Well, well.

The first person that comes to mind is the business magnet Elon Musk, technology entrepreneur, investor, and engineer. Holy Moly! SpaceX, Tesla, Solar City, Hyperloop, The Boring Company, OpenAI, Neuralink and who knows what else amazing problem-solving projects he is going to come up with and lift off the ground. One of the most fascinating things about Elon is that he is a thinker of how to make things better for the future of humanity.

“You want to have a future where you're expecting things to be better, not one where you're expecting things to be worse.” - Elon Musk
The second person would be Satoshi Nakamoto the creator of blockchain technology and bitcoin. Happy 10th Birthday to bitcoin today! ^^ Yes, it is unknown if it is one person or persons, but how exciting it would be to find out this way by jumping in their mind and experience them, their thoughts of their accomplishment and what makes them tick. However, would you want anyone to ever find out who Satoshi is?

“A lot of people automatically dismiss e-currency as a lost cause because of all the companies that failed since the 1990's. I hope it's obvious it was only the centrally controlled nature of those systems that doomed them. I think this is the first time we're trying a decentralized, non-trust-based system.” - Satoshi Nakomoto

Lastly, I would gladly jump into one of the astronauts who at that time happened to be at the International Space Station. Purely for selfish reasons of experiencing through them the floating in Zero Gravity and seeing Earth from a different perspective. I am an earthling and most probably will forever be one, but exploring stars one day in some shape or form would still be great. One can dream.

So what about you? Would it freak you out if someone jumped in your mind and learned about you? Whose minds would you want to explore and experience? You can answer in comments or create a dedicated post about this topic, I will be happy to read and throw some votes your way!  




RIP my thumb and I thought the previous time was a bit much




Song of the day: Scandroid, Dance With the Dead - Neo-Tokyo Dance With the Dead Remix

Sort:  

I wouldn't mind exploring the mind of Gates for a while, I sorta admire him

Thank you for sharing @empress-eremmy! His efforts of helping those in need are inspiring :)

Well, it took me a while m, but here's my answer:

https://steemit.com/thoughts/@lemony-cricket/a-genius-and-a-killer-my-mind-jumping-itinerary

I didn't really answer the other question which was would it freak me out if someone else explored my mind. Well, hell yes of course it would; this thing is mine! I've got stuff in here I don't want people seeing!

On a tangent a little, that's actually one of my biggest fears surrounding brain-computer interfaces and uploading and that sort of thing. We think data breaches are bad today with credit card numbers and medical histories and stuffs, what about when your whole mind gets leaked thanks to some hole in your BCI's operating system or some rogue employee at the uploading company? Aaaaah!

I guess if everyone could see everyone's mind it might balance out, because I think I'm probably not any more fucked up than anyone else.

Hmm.

Actually, I'm not so sure. Yeah, I'll pass. ^_^

Thank you for engagement and making an actual post out of this! Hope you found it at least as fun as I did, hehe ^^

So maybe shielding some would not be the best idea. No shielding. Then we all would see the stuff we don't want anyone to see and it would cause less issues, because we are all "terrible" like that, I am sure.

I actually wouldn't mind people seeing my terrible too.

Loneliness is two people with the same little bit of terrible but never sharing it with each other because each person is sure they are the more terrible one. "Oh god, what will they think of me?" Some say we all die alone, and when I think of that, it is hard to argue.

It is one of those things that if we are going to do it, just do it already and get it over with. An entire planet full of people who know everything about each other all at once. Maybe it would be paradise. Complete chaos? Or perfect order? Let's find out?

But then what would it mean to get to know someone? Learning is the fun part. Now it is all over instantly? Nooo, what is that, come on! :(

Whose minds would you want to explore and experience?

Joe Parys' and Jerry Banfield's. Maybe we would finally unveil the secrets of these shillminds and their behavior.

Haha, this cracked me up! Wonderful choices xD

Amazing artwork. Only thing that annoys me is that technical pen, or rapidograf as we call it. Reason why is because of my school, I had really big problems with it, drawing construction projects with it and just writing with writing templates, it was really annoying when I misspell something and need to start over again. :D Sorry for that. :D

That last person that you told is probably first on my list, I just want to taste that feeling about zero gravity and just floating around! :D

Thank you so much @miroslavrc! :)

Sorry about causing you negative emotions with the rapidograph! Ahaha! Bet you are not the only one who shares the same sentiments about them.

How cool it would be if every single person on Earth would get to experience zero gravity. Hope one-day space tourism would be a thing not just for the rich.

If STEEM goes to the Moon we will be one step closer to experience zero gravity cause we are going to be pretty rich. :-D

“decent sized brain”

Ha!!

Glad I made you Ha a little :P

This is why I like to live in the social media era, it gives us a chance to get a peak "into the minds" of so many prominent people around the world. Vlogs and stuff like that are really cool to get insight in peoples way of thinking.

It is cool, however, how much of it is actually real? For example, we keep hearing about these Instagram stories where people are living miserable lives pretending otherwise. How many internet gurus are actually living by what they are selling?

Of course, there are also good examples of that and people seem to be genuinely curious about others a lot actually.

Some are fake and others are real... but I think it is possible to just focus on the good stuff most of the time! At least that is what I try to do, I always unfollow people if I suspect it is fake.

Oh my word, it's like you wrote a post especially for me... ;P

First of all, be careful with that thumb of yours. Repeated Stress Injuries are no fun. I've started experiencing a bit of it in my left wrist/hand/arm - it hurts, I tell you!

But that brain is just perfect. If you put it on MakersPlace, I'll buy it for sure. And how about the actual work? For sale? =)

It'll probably come as no surprise that I've often thought about the things you touch upon in this post. And honestly, a collective mind is exactly where I think we're headed as a species, and Elon's Neuralink might just be the pioneering company that starts it all off.

It's going to be fascinating to see how it all plays out - or at least it would be, if we were able to live long enough. Would we lose our individuality completely in the end, or would we be able to maintain a kind of hybrid system where we could plug/unplug ourselves into the "omnimind" at will? And how would that feel? I imagine it would be like going to sleep and having perhaps having an extremely vivid dream of being the omnimind sentience.

Oohh, and you know... Maybe blockchain-like structuring would help in keeping our individuality somehow?

Maybe we are actually all the same so it was for all of us, hehe

I wish the thumb was my only concern at this point, but it isn't. Getting old sucks xD

Never really sold any of my works and not planning much on that? Maybe one day I will just give them away to people. Will see. For now I just really enjoy piling them up, you know? Sometimes put them all around me in a big circle and stare at details, patterns and hopefully progress in some way.

I recently read that Neuralink even resides in the same building with OpenAI, so it would not be surprising if it creates some sort of linked version of us through AI technology.

As time goes on we will begin to protect our individuality more and more I think. As I wrote this post I thought about how some people would really want to shield their minds so that no one could tap into them and indeed blockchain could help with that as well in some way.

Before I dive into who’s in mind I would like to get into and explore, I have to say this sketch is incredible. Not because it’s such a realistic looking brain but rather the fact that every dark seems to be equally distant from one another. It’s like you measured each one out! You either have very steady hands, which previous post you said you’ve got the shakes, or your mind is very precise in your hand works great with it.

OK now onto who’s in mind I would like to enter for a few minutes or hours LOL. Number one .. Gandhi, number two .. my wife( if not any woman would do), and number three .. my dog. I couldn’t really answer a lot of questions and have all the answers I need in less than an hour! I have to agree with you though, Elon Musk is another great choice.

Your poor finger. Are you planning a finger funeral?

Thank you @bdmillergallery! ^^ Well.. I forgot to mention it in the post, but it was quite challenging. It almost felt at times it took double the contraction, plus I made it in small bursts and tiny sections. Dotting certain area and then pausing then dotting the next tiny corner etc. A lot of patience xD I think being creative has taught me a lot of patience and no rushing that almost always guarantees better results.

Oh, your dog? Completely forgot, but I always wondered what my cat thinks, it would probably turn out that she is actually Martian like I've always suspected haha.

Any woman? So you are convinced that minds between women and men are somehow different other than that each mind is unique?

No finger funeral yet. I managed to revive it :D

OK got your point, I suppose any woman in my family is really what I was thinking. They’re all more unique, artistic, intellectual, and creative then myself or the men in my family, therefore I stand corrected… Any woman in my family. Your cat very well may be Martian. Keep a close eye on that feline! So glad the finger has survived. I was really sweating that one. LOL.

wow u are so smart @m31 I admire it. This post was awesome so many good facts about mind and humans. imo even if someone thinks he understand others, he is wrong. You can express sympathy, you may feel sad for someone but you will never exactly know how does someone feel until you are in this person mind (Unfortunately, technology does not let us do it yet)

Aww, thank you @txmek! <3

That's the condition of humankind. So strange by design. Always longing to be understood and never really understood and so curious of minds of others too.

Question is if one day technology will make it possible would it make things better for us, less lonely or quite the opposite.

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.332 which ranks you at #706 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 708).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43