A "blow" fish :) dream Vision

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Greetings steemians :)

Have you ever had that situation when you're really really tired but you try to continue what you're doing - reading a book, drawing etc - and suddenly your brain stats to hallucinate and drifts away ? I have:) many times.
From what I've heard Salvadore Dali used that dreamy visions state to get inspirations for his paintings. Form what I recall he used to seat with a teaspoon in his hand when he was worn out and the moment he was falling asleep the teaspoon fell from his hand to the ground making noise and waking him up - allowing him to recall the visions his brain was serving him :)
I'm no Salvadore Dali but the artwork I want to share with you was something of a vision my tired mind started creating when I was drawing something completely different. To be honest I'm not quite sure how it really looked in my vision, because it faded away quickly but the general idea stuck in my head.
Hope you like it :)

Started drawing It in my trusty moleskine sketchbook right after i saw it but had to give up quite early on and finally got some sleep. All in all it took me about 4-5 evenings to finish.

The "blow" fish

Blow. Get it?
Cause he, y'know, blows... and.. yeah...

This one was made with pigma micron 03. Those sakura pens haven't failed me so far and personally they're my favourite inkpens. The paper is moleskine - my first sketchbook from them but definitely not last. It's really smooth and thick, also opens wide easily which is really helpful on bigger pieces.

Process

Hope you enjoyed this trip;)
Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Brilliant! Really impressive shading (if that's still what you call it in this style lol).

Thank you
Guess it still is shading ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Impresionante su capacidad creativa. Excelente. Felicitaciones. aliriera

The image just stuck out in the feed. :)

@machnbirdsparo standing out is a good thing mostly ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

This is really quite lovely. <3 I'm particularly impressed by your use of the book-spine as the center of the illustration. I've always shied away from that crack!

Truly beautiful work – glad I followed the OCD post to find this gem. :)

steemitposts1.jpg

@zipporah I was kind of in awe when I first saw people's drawings that went through both pages in the sketchbook and it looked good ;)
Turns out there are sketchbooks where you can do that and its ok, and there are sketchbooks that are not meant for that really.
Thankyou :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Love all the detail in your art and thank you for sharing that info about Dali and the dreamy visions techinque x

@trucklife-family thankyou :) Dali was a truly unique person

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not know about the dream vision and how Dali was using it. I ve experienced the feeling but the recall of the vision is always kind of hard, i guess it takes practice,lol. Your artwork is amazing, so sureal and dreamy:)

@georgeboya thank you, yes it is hard to recall. Like I've written - I remember the general idea but not exactly how it looked:)

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so awesome @longer !!! You have really great touch in this one !

@aalagenesis thank you. Appreciated:)

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28