Scientific Glass Adventures: Cannabis Oil (Or Plant Oil) Extracter Tube

in #art7 years ago

I start with this photo basically because that little round hole is one of the most important and frustrating part of producing these simple but important pieces. What you're looking at is the nozzle end of a tube meant for extracting cannabis oil, or that's what we use it for anyway.

The idea is to pack it tightly with cannabis material and use butane to process out the beneficial oils, much like an essential oil compound full of THC and CBD and other compounds too.

This is one of those things that I thought would be easy as cake to produce, turns out it's not. Getting that hole perfectly round takes a trick of proper shaping and melting, but I've finally figured it out.

The end needs to be flared like that so you can put on a coffee filter and get it to stay, we generally use hairties for this purpose. This tube is part of an order of 12, 10 inch tubes but I'll be honest when I say the size varies despite my best efforts to keep things right. It looks like I've got a lot more of these in my future, at least 24 of varying lengths to be correct.

Check out some of my other recent posts!

Lily Da Vine Leslie Starr OHara's SteemNomadic
Acapulco Sunsets: Glorious Ball of Fire
Acapulco Sunsets: Orange Glow and the City from Above

Sort:  

I find the absolute best thing is the correct sized graphite rod for the hole you want to make. I make my own handles as they burn up to hold the graphite. Makes the holes a sinch. I use them for my pendant loops and it makes perfect loops that can be fully welded.

I've only got one size of those and I find my tweezers work fine. I just use them to shape it as it's cooling so only a tiny bit of glass moves. I get the perfect shape just a bit too big then melt it down a little and it's ready.

Another good way to make the hole is use a blow hose and swivel (instead of placing the tube on your mouth and eyeballing how much of the end you get in the flame), this way, you can accurately observe and adjust how much of the the end goes into the flame while you blow the hole...then make adjustments with a tapered graphite rod or condensing.

Sounds good, but more work for me because I'm not good with the blowhose and swivel haha

It took me a bit to get used to, but once I did, it was hard to go back to not using one, especially for detail or precision work. I hope to post some of my work once I have checked out more of the tag topics. And I agree, silver fumed cobalt really is an amazing combination.

I figure it'll be the same thing for me. My blowtubes are currently not standard sizes because I have to pull them out of larger tube, so that's part of my issue. I make do with what I've got lol

Similar technique to carb holes and mouth pieces.

I just thought of something... how do you kiln with such wonky power? Would suck majorly to be in middle of soak and have power go out.

Honestly, the power goes out half the time before I get on the torch. That's part of why we're going off grid, which will be nice. I've gotten lucky so far when I've actually blown, but yeah It's prevented a lot of work from getting done.

Regular power will be a luxury by the time you get it!

I found part of using less color, means less chance of a grenade since the COE is closer. I really like straight fuming on clear with clear over lay. Mixing metals for fuming is fun too. But I have a few fumed clear pieces that have lasted me 10+ years with out ever being in the kiln.

I'm interested in fuming but still have a lot to learn in terms of striking and getting the colors to come out right. I try to use less color too especially because it's just easier as a new person.

I found my 2 keys to great fuming is the glass has to be right temp to accept the fuming and then using a super fine, pushing flame. It is just a bit more oxy than a joint flame. Once I got those figured out I could apply the fuming in far better ways. Layering is super cool for the depth you can get too. The hardest part I have found is to not be too heavy handed with the fuming as it is real easy to hit milk color, specially with silver.

I like the milk color but have a hard time getting it haha

Cobalt blue is my love, especially with fuming.

Very informative post. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.
please upvote and follow me i really need help growing on steemit..

Excellent work very Beautifull art ❤️🌸

beautiful art

How Charas is made ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39