Totem Portraits part 3

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I started this piece as individual portraits, but they just wanted to hang together so they became one piece! Like the other self portraits, they are done with oil paints and 23 carat gold leaf.

26167146_1567620369998383_1488911686549641475_n.jpg

The deer has been my most faithful totem in terms of guidance. S/he has come to me numerous times in dreams when I most needed guidance. The deer is a symbol of Spirit found in many cultures. The Indigenous Huichol Indians of Mexico even call their shamans ‘Marakame’ which literally means guardian of the Deer.

This peaceful and kind totem leads us to Spirit through Love. For Love is the only objective I want to embody in this Life voyage. I follow this totem’s guidance with reverence!

For the deer portrait I included my son and morphed both our eyes onto this noble creature.

deer detail_preview.jpeg

Snake is also a very strong totem for me. In ancient times, snake was seen as a symbol for the Goddess. It represented wisdom. As most of us know, the snake and the female were later to fall from grace and become the religious culprits for our fall from Eden.
Indigenous cultures around the world still hold the Snake in high esteem. Anyone who has done serious vision quests has most likely found this amazingly powerful totem in their visions. It has come to me in many visions as well as dreams.

LIBA-95-WEB_preview.jpeg

The Octopus! What can I say? I have never had this creature in a dream or a vision but how I love it! My love for its intelligence and beauty has brought it into my heart to share space with my favorite guides.

LIBA-94-WEB.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful paintings! Really like the Deer. :)

Incredible * ___ * Love the details and the strange eyes so much <3 Each of the panel's animal seems to carry so much personality and philosophy with them! Gorgeous work <3

upvotes and resteems

thanks! :)

I am so in love with these, my family is russian orthodox. I chose paganism at the age of 13 but I do still have the orthodox rituals ingrained in my DNA. These reminds me of the Icons my grandmother had all over her house . These however capture the magical with none of the chains, I love them. I have to be partial to the octopuss because I love them sooo much so in this picture she wins. I have handful of totems Tiger, fox , raven , mouse , rabbit and praying mantis. lol ... I can't wait to see more of you artwork this is truly beautiful :)

Thanks for that lovely response. Your dna also has pré-Christian pagan info :) Thé whale totem helps to resurface our cellular memory :)

Nice to connect

Gorgeous work! I've always loved gilt in art works, so classical, and so modern with this application. Bravo!

thanks :)

Wow This is Amazing!! 👏👏👏

banner_seethrough820.png
Check out our Discord Channel

thanks. I will check out your channel as well :)

It´s disturbing but I like it!

Congratulations @libaws! You've been nominated by @sigrid.nepelius (for being an underrated steemian) to win some $$$ in my contest. If you guys win, you get to split the entire post payout 50/50! For another chance to win, consider nominating another underrated steemian to share the spotlight with them! I also personally think you're awesome, so I resteemed your last post, and am now a loyal follower ^.^

thanks to both you and @sigrid.nepelius I will check into the contest. <3 !

I'm in love with the octopus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04