When is Now - HF20

in #art6 years ago


I could have posted this latest painting last week, but there were adventures to be had in the mountains and then HF20 threw a spanner in the works. It would seem that the Steemit team did not do their testing very thoroughly before they pushed HF20 onto us. I surmise that Steemit are rushing to get the ground work in place for the Smart Media Tokens. It's a game of catch up with EOS. Other than my initial annoyance with how HF20 was deployed, I'll say let's wait and see how Steemit now progresses and functions daily post hardfork.

We now return you to your regular program... Art.

Here we have the final painting after progressing from the drawing, work in progress, to now. It's always a challenge working from black and white references. But I think I am getting a handle on how to render figures in some way that approximates a realistic rendering.

I also took to using a different technique for the background, by using a palette knife to apply the paint. I do love working with palette knives. There is a certain freedom and definitely a looseness as the paint squishes around however it sees fit. I like having a play of tight brush work verses loose in a painting. I might be experimenting with this further in the future.


"When is Now", Leo Plaw, 30 x 24cm, oil on canvas
Model: Gregg Friedberg

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Did our sp get a boost today?

Who, you or me?

Beautiful work!!!!

The finished version looks great! I like the shade that you gave to his neck. It makes it looks real! Beautiful!

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you @delishtreats! Experience is teaching me how to render it.

have been following the journey of this one, and i have to say that the finished painting is very, very lovely to me. there is a blend between realism and dramatism with this one, maybe because parts of your artistic interpretation of the black and white base? but whatever it is, it results in a beautiful and glowing picture <3

Really gorgeous work, @leoplaw <3

(AND WELCOME TO DISCORD, ALSO !)

(so wonderful to be able to chat with you, now :D :D :D)

Thank you @veryspider. Only experience (more practice) will help me render the images more realistic. So... back to the studio. =)

Isn't it grand to be back to posting about art and such on Steemit. Silly old Hard Fork.

I love the shadow from his hood/robe. Lovely.

Thank you Donna!

Yes, great for us powered up users, but it seems many low end users are still having issues. The whole debacle has certainly sparked much discussion about the future of the network and how it should be managed.

Love the character’s gaze full of emotions!!! Wow talent at work here great stuff Leo!!! I just posted my artwork but completely different type of art style from yours via digital painting lol. Upvoted to support

Posted using Partiko iOS

looks like we are back to normal again - whatever the definition of "normal" is.
There is a certain freedom and definitely a looseness as the paint squishes around however it sees fit.
Yeah, try finger painting backgrounds with rubber gloves! Its fun!
Cheers - I am off the net until October 12th - taking a break in Paris. No internet.

You can also get those rubber painting tools to move the paint around.
What takes you to Paris? Exhibitions?

It really is incredible the end of this work the drama that transmits! Excellent work!

beautiful work !, i love the colors of skin .. !

Thank you Adele!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70