My entry - Papa Smurf! - for the ltdwf Learn To Draw With Friends! - WEEK 7 - Back To The 80's!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody!!

I always get a little excited with this beautiful challenges... maybe it reminds me of school :P

Thanks to @tonyr for the challenge that you can find here https://steemit.com/ltdwf/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-7-art-contest-for-all-ability-levels-this-weeks-theme-back-to-the-80-s

Knowing my laziness I started with Papa Smurf :P but it wasn't that easy in fact I concluded that cartoons are hard to draw because at all time you have to think like the artist that did it in first place and kind of go along his "contorted" lines, I mean what if he was left handed?? XD...everything was a challenge ...legs, hands, nose, eyes..even the Papa's waist line lol

I had lots of fun though so here is the final product

IMG_20170824_023847_Fotor.jpg
papasmurf resized.png

now on to the process: first I draw the major guidelines..so I have some references and not go out of proportions (I will use other minor references visually through out the entire drawing like the space between the legs etc.) I draw the guides in this fashion

guides.jpg

next I roughly draw the contours by visually using the minor references ..(note I changed the shape formed between the legs)

IMG_20170824_010317.jpg

I will be changing those shapes till I find the right proportions untill the very end: outside shapes like the spaces between the waist and arms and inside shapes like the ones in between eyebrows and eyes, waist line and beard, etc.

IMG_20170824_013008.jpg

I don't know if you can see it but I redraw several times the mouth, nose, eyes, hands and practically everything else except the hat lol which miraculously came out good the first time (at least I didn't touch it much ;] )

IMG_20170824_020730.jpg

Now let's tweak this "spaceship's" engine a little bit shall we (yes my pencil is my spaceship and my mind is Space) XD

IMG_20170824_021016.jpg

Oh look a little star dust :)

IMG_20170824_021208.jpg

don't throw your precious graphite powder that comes out every time you sharpen your pencil, you can use it for shading

(in the picture above you can see all the "dust" I needed for the entire drawing)

IMG_20170824_021337.jpg

first you shade the darker or hotter colors in this case the red so as the "dust" starts to diminish on your fingertip you pass on to the lighter or cooler color in this case the blue,

(you could use as much powder as you want for harder and softer shades and set the tone you would like to have)

IMG_20170824_021930.jpg

at this point am pretty much done after tweaking all body parts (frustrating at times :P)..now softening shades...

IMG_20170824_023148.jpg

polishing up some dust leftovers and marking the outlines..

IMG_20170824_023847.jpg

Papa's got a brand new tag...

IMG_20170824_023847_Fotor.jpg

... #ltdwf

learn to draw with friends

offered to you by...

... @tonyr

also check out #dailysketch

for daily 20 minutes challenges sketches

last but not least #creativecomp

brought to you by ...

... @sammosk

That's all for now folks! now am off for the transformers's OPTIMUS..

optimus resized.png

NOW HOW AM I GOING TO DRAW THIS??? (is got to be at least 4 perspective here ... x-l )

as always good vibes and energy !!

Sort:  

Fun drawing @kingyus keep up the good work.

Thanks a bunch @mphil, appreciated!!

woohoo Smurfs UP :D

Congratulations @kingyus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

like a pro .. keep it up :D

Thank you!! I wish! Glad you liked it ;)

WOW

THANKS EVERYBODY!!!

This post has received a 5.88 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @kingyus. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

great post! upvoted and follow!
Please, check my blog. There are my artworks. I would like to know your opinion!

Thanks so much for taking part in the contest @kingyus. Excellent process posts for your entries my friend and please accept my apologies for not acknowledging them sooner. I have had an unexpectedly busy week. :(

I hope you had fun taking part and will join us again next week. I hope to announce the winners and post week eight tomorrow.

Have a great day buddy!

Nice !! Wonder what drawings you are going to sweat us this time...excited!! )) no worries tony as I see it you are the one doing the harder work managing all those entries ..so thank you !!! )))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68216.84
ETH 3827.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63