Drawing "Scotland" #dailysketch - "The sword in the GROUND"

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit people!!

today I will be


drawing "Scotland" for the #dailysketch by @tonyr

"The sword in the GROUND"


Ofcourse, Braveheart!

... that what comes in my mind when I hear Scotland! I am not Scottish so pretty much Braveheart is the only reference I ever had with that country and what a reference!! :)

Needless to talk about the movie if you haven't seen it yet then I highly recommend to!

I searched for some "crazy" looks of Mel fighting the English but it was all too "intense" x]
So I came across this sword

and then I thought "another sword?!"
I am talking about the previous post I made about the cartoon

The Sword In The Rock

At the beginning I wanted to incorporate that sword with the Braveheart's one so I flipped the paper and was getting ready to draw but I was still not convinced and so I looked in the net for some other inspiration right when I decided that's it!
I will go for this one but I will draw only one half to emphasize the paintings
(...at least that what I thought)

I forgot about the drawing in the back of the paper and started drawing till I took this picture..

IMG20171117151300_Fotor.jpg

"what a mess!" I said to myself but I didn't want to redraw it even if it was only 2 lines plus I was curious what the two drawings meshed together could bring about in the end so I continued...

IMG20171117152723_Fotor.jpg

Interesting how the lines came together ...

IMG20171117154328_Fotor.jpg

I had a date seed laying there so I used it to get the narrow angles ;P
... a tissue to help spread it around...

IMG20171117154729_Fotor.jpg

and now look at this!...

IMG20171117160508_Fotor.jpg

I like how the eyebrow aligned with the sword, the face outline and lips with the rock :) I didn't even planned it xD
Ok so now all that remained was a little touch there and here and voila'!

IMG20171117160546_Fotor.jpg

I was ready to post it as is but then that sword came back again to haunt me and I don't know how but I saw it!
I saw a sword in Mel's face and I already knew what to do!

IMG20171117165801_Fotor2.jpg

And that's how my journey into Scotland mainland came about by meshing/smashing it all together, Arthur, Mel and the sword
:D

It's never perfect but I hope you liked the idea

I left on the ground that famous thistle symbolizing the legacy that William Wallace left forever to the Scots hearts and even though he maybe under ground, the thistle will always be over him under the Sun!

(the thistle symbolizes unity and endurance)

...serves him right to be buried in it! that land he fought, shed his blood, sweat and tears on... serves him right to be covered by it!

...and with that I like to mention one of his quotes:

Every man
dies,
not every man really
lives


And by that I exit this post but before I do I'd like to say ...

steem on like Merlin

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @kingyus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44