Oil Painting on a 3x4ft Canvas with Steps

in #art7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171211_011855.JPG


Hi everyone! I have been making oil paintings since 2012 and i have already posted few of my works here. But today! i will post about the process in making such masterpiece.


Materials:
Oil Paints
Paint Brushes
Turpentine
Canvas
Pencil

I used Grumbacher brand on my oil paintings and i prefer not to use Pre mixed colors so that i can use the kind of hue i wanted.24297369_10155914385223252_8724912175235054445_o.jpg

And use a rectified/refined turpentine because it is oderless. Turpentine is used as a vehicle for the better usage of the oil paints. And yes, i prefer Berkeley brand
20170715_132500_300x300@2x.jpg


Basically the first thing I would do is to draw the said images that should be painted. But we will skip to that part since we will focus on the painting part.


The Steps (I do)


First I choose the colors I wanna use. And for me, I always paint my subject/emphasis first before anything else.
I painted the skin tone first. I used the colors Vermillion(red) and Yellow ocre(yellow) Which would result to an orange tone. For tone control I use Titanium white to lighten the color and burnt Umber to darken it. I use pointed brush for details and a flat brush for blending the paints on the canvas.

FB_IMG_1512925500950.jpg

I always try my best to make it as realistic as possible so that it would be more catchy in the eyes.

And here is a closer look for details

FB_IMG_1512925506748.jpg

(by the way, I am the model of my own painting so please do bare with my body structure lol)

This time I tried covering all the skin tone as much as i could including the head. And put a layer of background to see if the head looks realistic with background.

FB_IMG_1512925514063.jpg

Now moving to the next part. I painted the jeans and I used the colors Cerullean Blue and Paynes gray. Paynes gray gives a tint of blue when it is mixed with white. So I believe it would be perfect for painting jeans. Same process with the skin tone. pointed brush on the details and flat brush for blending.

FB_IMG_1512925510579.jpg

And ofcourse a picture of me while painting back in the days. Most of the time i use tiny brushes for better details. (doesnt matter what size the brushes are as long as it satisfies your need for painting the details)

FB_IMG_1512963493119.jpg

Once Im satisfied with the details i made, Its time to paint the background and foreground. I decided to paint it with complementary colors and a cosmic touch on the top. I used orange and blue for dusk and dawn effect. It is quite a challange to balance things up but studying the principles or design and elements of art made me do things i wasnt aware of. By then i can tell that i pulled it off and nailed it somehow. This time i used a larger brushes because it doesnt need much details.

FB_IMG_1512925517655.jpg

Heres a closer look to the cosmic part of the painting. I also painted a contellation of stars which is Libra for concept purposes.

FB_IMG_1512925521246.jpg

I have noticed that the cloud i painted doesnt fit on the picture so I decided to paint it same as the cosmic thing on the top part to create balance as well.

FB_IMG_1512925532620.jpgFB_IMG_1512925529527.jpg

Painting cosmic effect is quite hard to explain but i suggest you guys should watch a video on how to do it. There are lots of videos on how to do it and trust me that it is easy to make it but hard to explain.

However, moving forward. I painted the coin using black and white so that i could depict a realistic coin. Still using a pointed brush for details.

FB_IMG_1512925540797.jpg

I believe I have already covered the whole canvas. But before i can say that the painting is done. I always check some details to see if it should be enhanced. Here are pictures for closer look.

FB_IMG_1512925538182.jpgFB_IMG_1512925544351.jpgFB_IMG_1512925532620.jpg


IMG_20171211_011855.JPG

So thats it! My painting "Equilibrium". I will post again next time for the concept being explained for this work. Hope you guys like it and i apologize if i havent explained as detailed as it should be. It took me a month to paint this piece because of its details. Thank you everyone!

Till next time! :)

Sort:  

Wow... I thought I have some skills but yours work just ruined my beliefs... You just nailed it... Fantastic work...

thanks man :) looking forward to see your art as well :) lets learn fromeach other.

You've got incredible talent! Your work is symbolic and for me, it has a very deep meaning. Good job in painting the worn-out coin. I painted landscapes before but I still can't imagine how to do what you did!

thank you so much! hard work really pays off. i dedicated my whole college life to making art and im glad it went well. but before i started i really struggled a lot. and heres a post of mine how i started drawing :) thanks again!

https://steemit.com/art/@kennik/why-drawing-everyday-is-important-in-making-art

CONGRATS MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

totally pulled it off 😂

What a talent. Superb details! Somehow the person in painting looks like you.

thank you so much :)

looks just like him right? amazing indeed! his attention to detail is breathtaking

i agree with you

haha well thanks for agreeing, nice to see i am not alone in my opinion :D blessings to you

Awww very good! So much better :)

wow i feel kinda curious --better than what?? if i may ask 🙊🙉🙈

that's amazing..... some day i would like to learn to paint with color.... for now i am sticking with pencil

cool! thanks man. i also started from pencils. and heres my post about it :) hope you like it and i hope it helps

https://steemit.com/art/@kennik/why-drawing-everyday-is-important-in-making-art

thank you. i will go and check it out

You truly have an amazing talent. Never stop painting and thinking!

will share next time about painting concepts and i'd be glad if you guys could say something about it. thanks! :)

Wil do so! Started following you :)

heres another post of mine. and i hope you find this as relevant as this post :)

https://steemit.com/art/@kennik/why-drawing-everyday-is-important-in-making-art

sure! you mean concept art or sketches? bah never mind, i love them both xD cant wait to see those!

haha very important --and thinking! we all deserve a world where freedom of thought is not a rarity, but the norm

Very true! Thank you kind sir :)

no problemo amigo! nice to find you in here, let's make the most of this place ;) blessings and have a good Christmas day, happy last week of the year to you!

i got a new post and i hope you find this one as relevant as this post :)

https://steemit.com/art/@kennik/why-drawing-everyday-is-important-in-making-art

sure --on my way to check it out! blessings :D

Great job !!! I love the blending works! @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kennik to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thanks :)

Hello @kennik
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been determined by a human @jacinta.sevilla to be possessing of special gem. Do join the #untalented family!

Abolishing the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum, average and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!

So e.g if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, arent we both genius? Oh, we both are! Showcase your talents regardless of its nature freely with us in #untalented. Relegate all reservations as flaws are allowed and we sift even the so-called nonsense to find sense therein.

#untalented is an ongoing historical curriculum with initiatives/contests, where each participant wins something. No losers! It is also a core branch of #steemgigs, so please join the SteemGigs community on discord already containing around 700 gifted steemian family members. See this URL for more info

https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

and also this URL for the discord community

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

If you want to vote a witness, you can vote steemgigs too. Simply go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs into the first search box. Stay awesome!

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.

Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

someone beat me to it - he posted it e - di ko alam haha

awwwwww T.T i tagged u not long after he posted.. next one then! :)

Tagging people.doesn't work. No notifs.

Aww really? :( I guess kasi my browser notifys me when i get tagged sometimes idk... sa phone

It's spotty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43