Watercolor Pencils

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20180607_213313-01.jpeg

Everyone knows creativity in arts runs in our blood. But did you know I never liked it once to use Crayolas even if I was given sets of 36 or 48 or even 72? I'd rather melt them up and splatter against a paper for an abstract art instead of lazily coloring. When I saw my Mom do my school projects, I stayed behind her, watching every stroke. She only used the cheap palettes of watercolor that can be bought at local school supplies. That was the first time I realized that art cannot be determined by the extravagance on the tools needed.

When I was in 1st Grade, my Titas registered me in a regional art workshop catering kids until 16. I was clueless and without experience. From techniques of watercolor to plaster carving, they were one of the best memories I had, most especially that I finished at 3rd place overall. The other winners were 12 and 16 years old. And I was very proud of myself after hearing my name being called out from the stage. When I made the last artpiece for the closing ceremony, I cried because I accidentally drew 6 legs of the horse in the calesa. The piece won and up until now I'm asking how on earth (really, how on earth????) did it won. My eyes were swelling when I received the award and the art package. From then on, I had on my hands my first set of Fabre Castell's Watercolor Pencils. They are still in use up until now. I learned to polish my talent without proper schooling but with self experimentation.

I only take advantage of the expensive art supplies whenever someone gifts them to me or when I win them over small contests. But generally I'm fine with palettes costing under a dollar.

What kind of obra you do reflects your peace of mind and your story. I now have 3 sets of the Faber Castell watercolor pencils in my possesion. And if cowardice dominates over me in the first place, I wouldn't have actually discovered my potential in arts. So I can say, don't be afraid to try new things. There are no precious gems to appreciate without digging up.

I know what I want when I describe myself as an artist. I sketch roughly and prefer making drafts in scratch papers. I work in little amount of time as much as possible. When there are mistakes, I know very well how to handle them. And my styles and resolutions reflect so much about my personality.

It was in the first week of May this year when I bought my first pad by Berkeley. The photo above was my first work which immortalized the weather I saw from the beach that day. Afterall, rainy season has already started in the Philippines.

Sort:  

Hello kenden!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Your self votes will be countered by @sadkitten for 1 week starting Thursday, June 14th 2018, 11:30 because your account is one of the highest self voters. For more details see this post.

Hey there Ohana! You were featured on the #110th edition of Steemitfamilyph's Featured Posts. Congratulations!

Wow thank you!

Spectacular work, you have capture the view very nicely and love the colour combination of your work. Keep up the good work.

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @kenden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

What a great piece of art you have here! And I love your story about using crayons as a little kid; your brain knew you were an artist before anyone else :)

Thank you 😊

I love your artwork. And I do understand what you mean saying it cant be determined by the expensiveness of your tools. An artist can make something fabulous out of nothing. I do prefer the faber castell watercolour pencils myself though :) but I also use a cheap watercolour palet that I bought for my daughter ;)

Thank you :) we're in the same page

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56522.91
ETH 2330.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33