Being a tourist in my own city Part 1: Löwendenkmal

in #art5 years ago

We all know this: Because you live in a certain place and call it home, it makes you looks differently at your city. You don't see it as a place of beauty anymore, you think of it more in a convenient kind of way. I was writing about this already earlier this week when I was passing the Museggmauer here in Lucerne. But there are so many beautiful place here in the neighborhood that I have not given proper attention as yet, I decided to start an ongoing series on the beauty around me. Just to NOT look at the city like 'where is the closest by supermarket', or 'how do I get to the trainstation in the fastest way', but to look at it through the eyes of a tourist.


The Löwendenkmal



Screenshot_20181104-113226_Pixlr.jpg

Located just slightly off the main roads in Lucerne, I only discovered this beautiful stone-cut statue a couple of weeks back when I going for some coffee and I decided to follow all the tourists to see where they were going. I was stunned! This 6 meter high and 10 meter broad stone lion is just lying there in the wall and I had NEVER even known that it was there, even though I pass this street so often.


Made as a symbol to honour the fallen soldiers in the French revolution in the 1800s the words carved above Helvetiorum Fidei ac Virtuti meaning to the loyalty and bravery of the Swiss this is actually a beautiful yet supersad momument.


Now I am not really an art person, but the whole setting of this Lion is just humbeling. A pond before the mountainwall with trees sheltering it from the outside world is for some reason special. Even though there is not so much to see to just this one gigantic statue, it is the whole setting that makes it different. When you see the tourists marching in this park, posing for the Lion for the perfect selfie and marching out again I can only knod my head of disunderstanding. Your need the feeling to let sink in.


I guess I might turn into an art person in the end after all ;)





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Sort:  

What a great idea I could say I will follow your example but I have my own goals now. You are right where you live you go to the supermarket maybe bios or some cafe, but parks sea forest and aaaal the other stuff you just walk by them. You are totally right go for it Karin.

Yeah, make your hometown more into a tourist city! Every place has so much beauty that we all tend to forget that it is there!

Seeing your own place with the fresh eyes of a visitor makes you a real traveler. What a lovely spot but I do agree, a sad one.

Exactly there is a feeling of melancholie hanging over this place especially with the autumn colors adding in on there. If it wasnt co crowded there I would totally spent an afternoon on a little bench just staring at this

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

There are some places in my city I have never visited even though they are quite famous! Why? Because one lifetime is not enough to cover all of them.

And that's one of the longest pictures I saw Karin. How? It looks beautiful and yes, ARTISTIC. ;)

hahahahha Not deliberately actually!
Screenshot of the original so it turned quite narrow because of that I guess

(i got to get into that resizing thinghy!)

Congratulations @karinxxl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Here here! Yes to showing off the beauty all around us, those often overlooked in the mad dash to be efficient as possible. I specially appreciate you fun wording, I get it..

"I can only knod my head of disunderstanding. You need the feeling to let sink in."

In retrospect this was surely not the best choice of words hahaha, but they carry the weight of the message :D

Lots of retrospection yesterday indeed love 🙇

Congratulations @karinxxl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23