Krafting Letters Challenge : April Day 11 - Circle of Life

in #art6 years ago

I had a very bad headache yesterday, I couldn't think straight and to make the case worst, I had diarrhea too! It was a bad day so I was a little unproductive except for the video we did yesterday with @panoramicview. We forced it because we had no more time to film.

I slept and woke up today feeling a little bit better. So I thought I should give myself a little time to be away from the monitor for a few hours. I walked out of the house, started walking and just let my two eyes see the skies and the trees. When I came back to the house, I opened my Miniso blank workbook and thought I should just make a piece for @korinkrafting's Letters Challenge for April 11.

This is the final output:

20180416_203818.jpg


MATERIALS.

I used my pencil and the ZIG Art and Graphic Twin Brush pens for this. I had this set for almost a year now but still, they work really good plus they have this watercolor effect on paper, when I give more pressure on the pen, it excretes more ink but if I slowly do the strokes with very less pressure, the colors become very light, of course, that would still depend on the shade.

pens.jpg

For this, I used four shades:

  • Purple
  • Scarlet Red
  • Turquoise Green
  • May Green

And although the pen has is a twin type, meaning it has a dual tip, I still used the brush tip.

The design was inspired by Abbey Sy because I am a huge fan of her. I recently bought a Canson 7"x10" My Lettering Progress Keeper which has 25 sheets and 200 gsm which means it is perfect for those ink and watercolor art pieces. This has one side rough and one side smooth which is exclusively distributed by International Fine Paper Exchange.

canson.jpg

The brand paper itself is made in France. However, I have not yet opened the pad yet, I guess I will wait until I filled the entire Miniso pad first before I open and use this because I I had been collecting blank notebooks and pads without really using them. I am definitely a hoarder and I want to change that. I wish to use all the notebooks before buying one but then again, I got really tempted last Saturday when we went to SM, they were on sale!


Okay, enough with the talks, let me show you how I made this.

DRAFT.

With my pencil, I started with a draft of how I want the layout and the design would go. This is an easy piece, it doesn't really require any complicated parts. Because the phrase itself says circle, I thought of using a circle form and make a green background of leaves and other random shapes. Green somehow for me reflects life, would you agree?

20180416_120514.jpg

I am a little attached to my pencil that I have this tendency of creating a lot of strokes even if it isn't that necessary. I have my kneaded eraser beside the pencil just in case I did something I don't like.

The fonts used are the simplest form of Serif and Script, they are also my favorite types because they are easy to use and they can be decorated to your liking if that makes sense.


COLORING.

I started filling the color of the word CIRCLE because it is the biggest among the rest. I used the purple shade for this and again, I used the brush tip. I first traced the letters and then filled it up, slowly but surely, I don't really want to make any mistakes.

20180416_120900.jpg

I then followed the script Life with the Scarlet Red color. I used this because of the fact that blood is the river of life. Without blood, the body cells won't be able to receive the nutrients and oxygen required for it to live, thus blood is very essential. This art is backed up by science. LOL.

20180416_121300.jpg

And then I forgot to record myself making this because again, I got a little lazy setting my camera and tripod although, I have my tripod already standing at the side of my table. I was just focused on finishing this so I didn't mind filming.

Oh, I also filled the word "of" without taking a photo, I used the Turquoise Green.


DECORATE.

I am done with the letters, I then proceed with the decoration, I have to highlight the circle design. I used May Green shade here, you'll notice the dark green shades, I actually used the same pen, I just had to add a few ink layers to it to make it darker.

20180416_122308.jpg

Truth: I am not a painter, I did paint before way back in grade school and high school but I had somehow stopped and was discouraged because I just don't feel like I can paint. I hope I can get back to that in the future.


FINALIZE.

This is done, the last part is to erase all the pencils traces out. I used my kneaded eraser for this part. This is the only part right here where I can be a little bit careless, I can run my eraser through the colors and don't mind making a mess at all.

20180416_123336.jpg

That's it! I hope you like it! There will be more lettering to come in the next few days because obviously, I am five days behind.


Participate in @korinkrafting and @furirin's Letter Challenge for April, check out the original post and below:

Thank you for participating Krafting Letters March | More to come!

Here are my previous works for the month of April:



xoxo,


Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:

https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

Sort:  

I can totally relate with hoarding notebooks. It's a sad truth. TT__TT

haha yes apir sis!

Kanindot uyy.. And, also, hope you'll get well na dai. :) :) Palayasa na nang diarrhea ug sakit sa ulo. :D :D

nilayas na xa dai..salamat sa ginoo

@furirin approves!
SNGHE5525.JPG

yay thank you furirin!

Get well sissy!

thanks sir!

Hoping na ok kna sissy. God bless and ingat lang sa kinakain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.89
ETH 3347.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74