I made a rainbow Dalek for the learn to draw with friends challenge! Process included

in #art7 years ago

The learn to draw with friends challenge hosted by @tonyr has a Dr. Who theme this week. There are three drawings to choose form at different skill levels. I chose intermediate which is Dalek. I didn't think this was going to be too difficult but all the little details actually made it quite challenging! Part of the challenge is that you are only supposed to use pencils and coloured pencils, so it's a more traditional approach.

The final result:
dalek06.jpg

I've also documented the process. First I did my basic sketch, this took what seemed like forever to get everything in proportion and as much detail as I could fit. There was a ridiculous amount of erasing and redrawing here!
dalek01.jpg

Next I darkened the lines, I was feeling a little more sure of the shape at this time.
dalek02.jpg

Next step was to start colouring it in. I actually went and bought some coloured pencils for this because I didn't have any, thanks for forcing me to go outside, it's beautiful today! The pencil in the corner deceptively looks like a dark brown but when I started colouring it was purple. Hmmm, I guess I have purple in my Dalek now. This is turning out more colourful than I intended, so I decided to go full blast!
dalek03.jpg

Next I started colouring in the little domes. I only have a 12 pack of pencils so I went with yellow in the middle for the highlight and a light green around it.
dalek05.jpg

As a last step I went and retraced all the lines in purple just to bring the definition back out that had been lost.

A close up of the head:
dalek07.jpg

Once again this challenge has made me step outside of my comfort zone and get my hands on some coloured pencils. I felt like a kid again colouring this thing in but the initial sketch was much harder than I thought it would be! Thanks @tonyr!

Here is the competition, come join or check out the entries! https://steemit.com/contest/@tonyr/announcing-the-winners-of-the-learn-to-draw-with-friends-contest-plus-theme-for-week-four-55-sbd-in-prizes-to-be-won#comments

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Thank you very much Mr. Roboto!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vachemorte from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Rainbow Dalek! RAINBOW DALEK!!! hyperventalates

... faints

I take it your a Dr. Who fan? (^o^)

Yes yes and I just learned the news about the 13th doctor so it's been on the brain more than usual today, crazy to see this post just a few hours later!💕

What a colourful fella he is!
''Exterminate''!

I think I used every color in the box!

Woah that's awesome! I might have to join this challenge - you're inspiring me to want to draw (I'm so far from being an artist though!)

Do it! That's the whole point of the challenge, every week you can practice and learn as you go! You can also look at other people's processes and learn how they do it. I draw digitally most of the time so this is the first time I've touched colored pencils in about 20 years. It's like relearning an old skill a bit. If I can give you some advice don't get colored pencils from the dollar store, they all came out as different colors than I was expecting, lol!

Ok noted about the dollar store colored pencils! I have a set from a coloring book i was working on (one of those ones for grown-ups with garden landscapes or something). I think it would be kind of relaxing too - to try to draw. Ok i'm going to think about it...I don't want to submit a complete dud!

The beginner level one is the Tardis this week, there are always three choices that's a bit easier. It is pretty relaxing though! Once you get the sketch done it's just coloring and everyone can color :)

Ok!! I think I'm convinced! But tomorrow I start :) Thanks@juliakponsford for the push!

Awesome I can't wait to see what you do!

Really nice execution of the object... Love your sexy of colour and your shading @juliakponsford

Thanks I ended up liking the color a lot. I was originally just going to do brown/orange/black but my colored pencils had another idea!

Nice job! Have you heard about the new doctor yet?

To be honest I've never been a huge fan of the show I've only watched here and there, everybody has been mentioning it though so yeah I have heard about it, I think Dr. Who is going to possibly be a woman?

I used to like it more but since about season 6 Steven Moffat's direction has been really loose. All the David Tennant seasons were fantastic though, and Chris Eccleston as well.

Yeah the new doctor is a woman and I know she's a really good actor, but I've only seen her do super serious drama on the show Broadchurch. The new person running the show is the person who did Broadchurch though, and that's really intriguing cos that show was so different but very well crafted.

I didn't know that, I really enjoyed season 1 of broadchurch, season 2 lost me a little bit though, i really enjoyed the atmospheric feel of it, very emotional/eerie vibe, maybe i'll check it out!

Yeah, it was so overwhelmingly tragic.

I think it looks great and that reminds me .... I need to get some paper for the chalenge. :)

You should definitely join! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52