Steem Sketch - Paris 6th

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Untitled.png

Today is all about Paris, and more specifically about the St Michel neighborhood.
Here's a little sketch of the St Michel fountain seen from the Seine river. I like this place as I find it very relaxing.

Untitled.png

Also there are a ton of book & dvd stores all around so that's nice for wandering.

fontaine_saint_michel_m13_DSC00882FP.JPG

Right on the opposite side you can see Notre Dame cathedral which is pretty imposing!

location-01_b.jpg

I used it as background in my comic Shades Of Men which actually takes place in the city of lights.

1453403361.jpg

I'm studying this area right now because I'd like to set the next scene of my comic right there. As you can see below the Luxembourg park is just a walk away from the St Michel fountain.

Untitled2.png

Who know what I'll end up with... We'll find out very soon I promise.

Thanks for checking out today's sketch,

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Loved the from-life architecture sketch.

My wife just loves to draw portraits but I feel like sketching life once in a while. It's a good way to sharpen your "observing" skills!

I really like your art, and hope be like you.
if you do not mind, please visit and advise my art blog.

Hehe you're doing great work. I love how you show your progress with numerous images. Even the final pic holding the drawing. Just keep up the posts and I'm sure you'll do great. Thanks for the comment

I do enjoy seeing scene shots/background ideas like this.

One of my comics is based in Ashcroft BC and I am so tempted to catch a bus there to take a lot of stock images of the area. As it is, I would just be working from memory and google street view ha ha. (I am on Vancouver island currently)

Wow so many great artists in BC. I lived in Vancouver for a year and meet so many talented people in the area. Glad to know one more! I'm from Paris but I'm actually living near the french Alps so I do work from google maps, images and memory! I wish I was there to do a more detailed and realistic work but life takes you unexpected places sometimes...

nice sketch. so which is for 7th?

Haha that would be for next time. 7th arrondissement is very interesting. You got the Eiffel tower, the invalides, Musee D'Orsay... I'll definitely try a few sketches there. Thanks for the suggestion! Don't hesitate.

the sketch very lively

Thanks a lot Matytan. Pretty sketchy. I worked from a photo for this one.

Very good I like your explain

I'm glad. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71