Cover Design - Anthology project

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Today I'm sharing this teaser about a project I've been working on for the past month. It unfortunately forced me to place my on going comic, Shades Of Men on a hold for a few weeks but I'll be back at it from now on. Good news!

The project assembles various artists around a common storyline. My part is called Ghoul Red One. I'll share more about it as we go and when we officially decide to release the whole thing. ;-D

But now, I need your help! I can't decide which cover to use. They both have the same layout but one shows the original line work. I'm happy with both but what would YOU want to see as a cover!

01.png

02.png

I like how graphic is the second one. It would fit perfectly for the cover. However the style of the comic (Which you haven't seen yet...) is closer to the first one. Humm... I'll leave that to you guys!

My inspirations were probably the awesome cover from the game SUPER HOT....

Superhot_Packshot.png

And a little bit of Judge Dredd!
08e666adc4355f2bff4fe807032278ae.jpg

As for the name of my short story... I don't know if you've seen this short film with a bunny commando on a rescue mission. Well it's called Cat Shit One. It comes from a manga called Apocalypse Meow.

catshit-1-0.jpg

No there are no bunnies in Ghoul Red One but a Swat team in a mission...

Hope that spiked your interest to the project. You can check out @infectedblood character design as a bonus!

Let me know which cover I should use and what you're thinking of the project. More to come about it next time. Check out my profile for more story telling, sketches and portraits.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

looking forward to this. when does it come out?

Good question! I don't have a specific date. I can confirm I finished all of my 8 pages short story. We're now improving the whole project and collecting the last bits. Should be all done in a month or so... You'll definitely be the first to know!

Hey @Storcogato my part of the project finally launched... I thought I'd let you know. I posted about it here!

I personally like the line work showing one more, but I had to choose one as the one to sell the second one is cleaner looking. Plus with the art looking like the first as you said, I think that backs this thought up.

That's what I was thinking too. Thanks for sharing. If I post some pages, you might get a better idea of the best cover. We shall see...

I prefer the first actually, the lines are really good! A lot of expression and movement. It gives it more pop I feel.

Whoo that's 2 votes on the first one. Good to hear! Thanks!

You know, I've been looking at it for a while and I'm still having a hard time deciding... It's true, the first one goes well with the actual style of the comic, but the second one, because it's cleaner looking... Oh, what the hell, let's go for the second one :)

Thanks a lot for the links to my profile and my bonus art! This anthology is going to look terrific and it's go good to collaborate with you, my friend! :)

I know right. We're 3 votes for the 1st one and 2 for the second. I'm leaning towards the first one for a final look closer to the comic itself. I could try cleaning up the first for a third option. We shall see...
And same thing here. This is such a fun project! Plenty more to come I'm sure!

Great work, the first one is definitely the winner. The lineart looks awesome, excellent work. Look forward to seeing some of the comic.

Thanks a lot. I'll definitely let you guys know when it's out. I'll link you to all other stories too!

Hehe @deimus I know it's been a while but the first page was finally posted. I shared it here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66