Digital Panting - Silk Robe _ Art Tips

in #art6 years ago

Hi guys, I am back with a new painting entitled...

'Silk Robe'

Its commissioned by a client of mine. If you happen to share my works on social media, please don't forget to credit me ^^

silkrobe_sme.jpg

"A girl in silk robe, she has to be more elegant than sexy. Also, no bedroom as background" So, this was my client's request.

o(〃^▽^〃)o

Tip 1

Always start your task with some research. You can't paint something without references . So, as artists, its important that we build up our visual library . Well visual library is a term I learned from FengZhu (a godlike artist from Singapore) . Visual library is a collections of images you are able to store in your mind. It can be done through practices painting the same thing over and over again. However, for a starter like me, I have my own so called reference packs where I keep all related objects in folders, sorted them out nicely.

Since the main's subject is silk. Therefore, I looked up for some silk robe images and studied their lighting and values. I found out that silk robes are highly reflective ! It shines and reflects light at a higher degree. Then, if you have followed my previous posts before, I always use color dodge setting in my brush to create light.

Speaking of colour dodge, you just cant help thinking of this cute little creature.
3f5a00acf72df93528b6bb7cd0a4fd0c.jpg

ColourDodge is also a technique used frequently by RossDraw. Like he said , "Everyday is a colourdodge day"
V(=^・ω・^=)v

Tip 2

Figuring out your character's pose. Well, the keyword is elegant , so you dont wanna mess this up ! haha. Look for elegant poses in google images. You will find a lot of poses. Look for the one suitable for your background. It is also the time for you to think about what you want for your background. Once you have the pose, the background, the material ready , wait , you still need one thing, THE FACE . The face is also one important element in a painting, most people will tend to look at the face and forget about the surrounding. (Its like when you are looking at your crush) Oh yes ! You need a beautiful face, again, Mr. Google ! There are so many angles , so choose the one that could fit your pose !

NOW THAT YOU GOT ALL THE INGREDIENTS READY ,

IT S TIME TO COOK!!!

What I normally do is that I start off with painting the face , it doesnt have to be similar to the reference you have, try modifying a little here and there, you might notice that the girl's face will become more beautiful and lean towards your own style ! Remember to draw a beautiful face, all your need is PRACTICES. PRACTICES MAKE PERFECT There are no shortcuts ! Try and errors. Make mistakes and never give up ! Because through making mistakes, you improve! Thats the truth behind everything. People keep failing until one time you dont fail anymore. *Remember how you manage to ride a bicycle , because you never gave up *

Of course , there are lots of techniques in painting face, for myself, i like to paint it with default soft brushes and use lasso tool to help me create sharp edges.

Tip 3

Take breaks every now and then ! Rest so that you can walk longer journey. Rest because your eyes need to ! After some breaks, you might notice some mistakes on your paintings. Is okay, change it and explore it. Try and error.

Alright, if you have read up until here ! Thank you for reading ! I hope you are motivated as I am . The key to perseverance is motivation. And to be motivated all the time is really difficult, but I will get back to this in the next post xD

Well, I will attach some brief process below. If you are a fan of digital painting or you are still learning like i do, please tell me what kind of stuff you want me to talk about, you can always leave your comment below. I am still learning like you do ! Lets learn and get better together =D

silk robe gif.gif

Sort:  

Oh wow! Thats brilliant! Following for more pieces :D

Thank you ! I am glad you like it ^^

Oh my goodness... Your works are absolutely stunning!
I like to draw myself but am nowhere as good as you.
follows you.

Thank you Roshans! ^^
Wait... Roshan... DOTA2 ?! XD

Keep practicing everyday , make a 365 day challenge to yourself. im still learning too ^^
If we keep doing one thing and never give up, one day we will achieve some result !

Hehe yup, my real name is Roshan. Although I'm terrible at Dota 2... XD

And practice I shall! Hopefully I can do such a challenge. Thank you very much for the advice ^^

great post! I'll be following you, cool to see fellow artists on this platform!
So far from what I've seen it seems like shitposts get upvoted to hell by bots on here into the trending page and quality posts like this drown, which is unfortunate to say the least ^^

Thank you so much Thunder ! I checked out your gallery ! They are cool too ! YOu even painted a fanart of Nema (Ross's OC) ! Its very hard to go in-depth tutorial here. I will try to make some videos in future next time. ^^

oh god yeah haha I just painted that one for fun once... it's kinda broken but yeah, Ross is a cool guy! insane how many people know him nowadays, I actually became friends with him when he started out his channel, not that much contact right now anymore tho
and yeah looking forward to your content!

Congratulations @jowyanderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Thank you !! ^^

Thank you very much !! ^^

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

The texture of silk was well expressed.
It looks sparkling and tender.

Thank you Soyo !!! So happy to meet another digital artist =D !! Followed ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93