Pixel Art Weekly!! Theme Announcement!! Win Steem!!

in #art7 years ago

Good morning you fine folks in Steemland!
It's time for another round of
Pixel Art Weekly

Congratulations to last week's winner @eqko
All the entries were great, but holy shit Eqko, that was amazing!

Personally I thought the last theme was great. However, it may have been a lil difficult for a majority of artists, especially those new to the craft of plopping down pixels. This week I wanted to do something a lil easier, in hopes to get more artists involved. I decided to take an idea right from last week's winning piece.
So... This week's theme is...

Ghosts
(via Pinterest.com)

Get spooky, get friendly, get ghostly, get haunted...I don't care which direction you go, just get creative dammit!
There are no restrictions for color or size, but as always bonus cookies to animated entries.

(via reddit.com)

Let's see what you fine folks can come up this.
The theme is interpretive, so if you decide to do something like Ghost Rider....no problem!


(via Pinterest.com)

Welcoming all artists to participate in Pixel Art Weekly, where your pixel prowess can win you STEEM!!!!
Pixel art is a form of digital art, created through the use of software, where images are edited on the pixel level.
Contests will begin on Mondays, at which point the theme for the week will be revealed.
On Fridays I will post the top 3 and allow steemit users to vote for the final winner.
Winners will be announced on Sundays and will be rewarded half of all steem raised on that weeks posts.
To participate, contestants must put their entry in the comments below. They must also upvote and resteem the post.
Tag any personal posts of your entry with the hashtag PixelArtWeekly.
Bonus points will be awarded for animated gifs.
All entries must be original works of art.
Good Luck to all!

Sort:  

well, I went the non-literal ghost route ....

I present you:


Ghost in the Shell

100% size link
gits_2x

200% size link
gits_2x

More information here where I link to the concept art it's based on. (also shown here in comments. )

Next week, you need to compete blindfolded. 😉
Fucking amazing!

quit thinking up awesome themes and I might skip one 😊

I'll keep doing my job, you keep doing yours.
Gorgeous entry

The animation is awsome!
Also thank you for the pixel art tutorial, helps me so much!!!

Thx man. I'm really happy with the way it turned out. Wasn't sure 4 frames would cut it.

Yeah that tutorial/knowledgebase is excellent. it's the best I've seen. I used to frequent that forum way back because of the awesome artists there.

wow, looks great, the animation is super smooth, good job man :)

Thanks man. Appreciated.

Dang! Great job.

Thanks. 😊

Wow, I'm mind blown. Amazing entry!

It is a bit too similar to this:
But animation definitely new.

It is exactly that, as I've mentioned in my blog. But I totally repixeled it from the ground up and then animated it. I had no intention at all of pulling a fast one.

I'm sure adding the link in the post will help get more views to your post. Otherwise it's easy to miss as there is no mention of it in the comment.

Done. Updated the post, mentioning the concept art. Thanks for pointing out the omission.

My entry- Love Ghost
ghost2.png

ghost2big 2.png

The Process: https://steemit.com/art/@kristyglas/pixel-art-love-ghost

(Disclosure: I combined this theme with 1 more contest)

I really like it!
Any chance you could add some animation?
You have until Friday evening to make any edits to your entry.

Thank you :)
I will try if I have time.

That would be awesome. It's also a great way to distinguish it from this contest and the one by @gmuxx

True, but there are already much better entries. I might still try, or maybe for next one :)

Fair enough.
It's up to you.
I personally select the top 3 and I always state in the rules that animated pieces get bonus points with me.
However, it doesn't mean an entry needs to be animated to make the top 3.

Lovely one X)
The transparency shows weight, it looks like crystal. Like it.

Thank you very much :D

I totally dig the translucency going on in the Deer. Well done.

Thank you :)
To save on time I actually copy-pasted the "trees layer" to the front and lowered the opacity ^^

wouldn't it be easer to just lower the opacity of the deer instead of having double tree layers ?
I been thinking about what might be the best way to portray ghostly spectrum without resorting to this (it double/triples the amount of colours used). but I haven't come up with anything yet.

find the time, want to see it at least move it's hinged leg :)

When you lower opacity of something bright, it becomes darker and muddy. That was what I tried at first and different layer overlays, nothing looked as I wanted.
You can also try a mask layer and partially erase the wanted areas.

As they say 'There is more than one road leading to Rome' 😊 glad you found what was working for you.

awesome, i love the colors :)

Thank you!
I love your pixel art rock speedpaint and hope to see more, so followed. ^ ^

Awesome, thank you so much, i will not do any pixelart for some time now, because i am going for a two week trip, but i will continue then.

So here is my entry. Checkout the timelapse.
ghost.gif

Can you include a larger scale version of this please?
ASAP!

That's already pretty slick man .. the animation could use some smoothing out though.

It is first time joining the weekly contest. An oriental theme "Hyakki Yagyō".

The process is here : https://steemit.com/art/@nanosesame/pixel-art-hundred-ghosts-night-parade-process-included-2017720t10393144z
Hope you guys enjoy this.

Hell yeah. Now we got a competition!
Gorgeous!

Don't forget to upvote and resteem the post.
Dems da rules

Oh... Thank you for reminding xDDD

Amazing, thank you for sharing the process and some story too :D
I love how you made many different ghost variations and they blend nice together.
Followed and resteemed. Good luck!

Thank you, I like Spirited Away>_<!!!!

Yay, glad you recognized!! :D
More zoomed in is here
^-^

You have so much talent @jonny-clearwater. Best post ever ! 😉

Another great Theme damn you .... was planning on maybe sitting this one out ... now I'm not so sure anymore ...

Lol
&
Muahahahaha

output_EStE9Q.gif

Just testing. Ok so it's a little small and not moving. fail

I'm glad you made an entry, however the deadline was a few hours ago. The top 3 for this week have already been announced.
In regards to size, yeah you'll want to scale up in the future. The animation runs also but you want to loop it....a gif is probably the easiest way to do that, but the animation does play.
I really hope you give it a go next week.
The theme is announced on Monday.

I'll definitely try to enter next week.

more testing
output_EStE9Q.gif

Nice work :) here is my entry

Ok, I feel like you are misunderstanding what pixel art is.
You really should watch...


Or...

Or these...
How To Pixel Art:
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLG0tvJ_jRDIVqRSjelh_uyuZpREN-T4ZF

This is link is perfect for software options..
https://www.slant.co/topics/1547/~pixel-art-sprite-editors

@eqko can you make any recommendations?

Sure I can. Read THIS It has all the info you need.

In short, pixel-art is where you conciously place each and every pixel because it has a very specific purpose.

fixed it, does this look more like pixel art?

This would be an acceptable entry

ok great, use this as my entry, ignore the previous one, thanks for the explanation :)

Sure. Don't forget to resteem the post though.

much better. Personally, I would leave out the skull ... without it it's actually quite good.

Thanks! Maybe I will do another one when I have time...

haha, it's really good considering you didn't even know what pixel art is, good job

ah ok, thanks I will give this a try

Upvoted & RESTEEMED!

My entry. The hyper electric green ghost. :)
Come give em' a hug. Lol

If viewing on phone see full size here:
https://steemit.com/pixelartweekly/@gre3n/pixel-art-weekly-gif-hyper-electric-green-ghost

All the entries look great!!

I'm glad I found this section. There is some awesome stuff. Maybe I'll even enter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78