Watercolor Tutorial - Wet on Wet - #jnarttutorialsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A Watercolor Journey

..:: * ::..
Original art by @jnart
..:: :: :: * :: :: ::..
#jnarttutorial
I recently found #drawingchallenge hosted by @helene. I love the criteria that everyone has to make a how-to post, so we can all learn from each other. The theme was fruit so why not practice some watercolor technique? I'll guide you through how I made my apple. And please tell me what you think or give me critique on the painting or process. Thank you!

..:: :: :: :: * :: :: :: ::..

Arches 300g, A3

färdigss.jpg

Set your stage. I had no fancy apples home so my buddy @reko's apples from latest dumpster diving would do.
Image00023.jpg

Make a sketch and apply masking fluid for the highlight.
Image00025.jpg

Prepare the colors you like in great amount not to run out while painting. I wanted to try out some pigments that granulate so I used Ultramarine Blue and Burnt Umber. Yellow Ochre, Light Red and Neutral Tint was fillers.
Image00026.jpg

Prepare with a spray bottle filled with water.
Image00027.jpg

Start with the colors of your choosing.
Image00030.jpg

Spray on water and let it run along the canvas by tilting.
Image00032.jpg

Add secondary colors - there is no right or wrong, only intuition.
Image00001.jpg

Maybe add some patterns.
Image00002.jpg

The only important task in this phase was to leave some whites - unpainted areas of the paper, especially in the apple.
Image00003.jpg

I let it dry.
Image00005.jpg

Tilt the canvas to avoid blooming effects.
Image00004.jpg

When dry, study your painting and see what to do next.
Image00006.jpg

Prepare colos for painting detail.
Image00010.jpg

Wet areas you want to paint with clear water. Then ad the darker tone where you can see the shadow.
Image00007.jpg

Use a tiny pencil for details. And as always with watercolor - remove colors applied in wrong places with paper or towel before it dries.
Image00009.jpg

(When you photo your process you can see where you should have stopped. I like the blooming but painted over it later in the process.)
Image00011.jpg

Look at the overall picture from time to time to see if something is incorrect.
Image00013.jpg

When you can see what the details look like - see if the background need some extra attention. I saw the need for a darker and cooler background. I applied color and used the spray bottle one last time.
Image00014.jpg

If necessary, remove paint with a brush or toothbrush (when the painting is dry). It works better with non-staining color. And you must have good quality watercolor paper.
Image000a20.jpg

Tadaa! I might keep on working on it but think it's kind of finished.
färdigss.jpg

Hope this inspires - See ya!

giphy.gif


And click here for my tutorial on Repetitive Patterns and Celtic Patterns

DSC_0027.JPG


Head_smal7

Sort:  

Great tutorial @jnart, perhaps I'll try watercolours for something other than shading now.

I'm glad to hear! Show me your creative work if you do ;)

Great tutorial and lovely painting!

@jnart, great watercolor work, even myself learned few new tricks, thanks a lot. I usually first wet paper and than add color, I will try this yours reverse way as soon as possible.

That is nice to hear! I'm experimenting for the moment so there will be more of this. Actually when I think about it the tutorial is labelled wrong. It's wet on dry, well well. Watercolor is such a wonderful medium when you start to get hang of it, so many possibilities :)

I've never thought to use a spray bottle, I'll have to give it a try next time I whip out my traditonal tools. I also really enjoyed the apple to painting gif. :)

Thanks :) It's easy to feel a bit stiff when concentration on making a good post. Gifs are underused ;) The spray bottle was new to me to since a while ago, you can du a lot of cool stuff with it. Will post more about it later.

Haha, they're definitely not underused with me. It adds some extra spice to each post.

I'm excited to see more!

Art - reSteemed - followed. Thank you for being with us

Thank you! So nice being part of this community!

That was a wonderful tutorial, I used to do watercolor years ago and so miss painting sometimes. They still call to me occasionally.... the paints I mean... ;-)

Hope you get to paint again. I have just recently started to paint freely and I love it.... when I don't get stuck. ;) Thanks for commenting

Your style looks so stunning! I'm looking forward for more tutorials like this!

Thank you so much! I've just started a tag I will use for my tutorial and yes there will be more, it's great practice to look at the process. #jnarttutorial

Amazing art piece !
Never drew like that...
;)

Thank you so much! Watercolor is so fun when you let go of the prestige.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @reko. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jnart to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61641.91
ETH 2997.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45