Kings and Queens! - Game of Thrones Fanart (Spoiler Alert) - #trialbycomicssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

The Passion for Well Produced Fantasy

..:: * ::..
Original art by @jnart
..:: :: :: * :: :: ::..
#jnarttutorial

Game of Thrones is soooooo cool! I'm really passionate about it. This is the least I can do as a proper fan :) As part of #trialbycomics hosted by @kommienezuspadt I made this Game of Thrones fanart. See the challenge here. And as you can see I used an old GoT picture inside :) I will guide you through the process.

(spoiler protection)
Image00002s.jpg

Image00002.jpg

I had the idea from watching my tiny John Snow portrait.
See My Tiny Portrait Video Time Lapse - by clicking here

I started by sketching the outlines with 2H pencil. Looks weird with a super-detailed face already there.

Image00004.jpg

Establishing the major values was the next step. Using HB and 4B. I drew light handed and by doing that knew I could erase back the hair in the end.

Image00005.jpg

When I saw the major shapes, values and proportions where kind of correct I stared to add darker values with 8B.

Image00006.jpg

I didn't care so much about the left edge because I wanted to add some darker tones there anyway. But I didn't know if it would shine through and put a little effort there.

Image00007.jpg
Image00008.jpg

Next was the hair. I user the eraser and "drew" back the hair.

Image00009.jpg

Then I added the dragon and king!

Image00010.jpg

Made the same step as for the queen.

Image00011.jpg

At last I used my charcoal crayon. It's a little fat which make it stick even where you have drew with the pencil too hard. Usually you need to be really light on the hand not to ruin the structure in the paper. If it is ruined you'll get a shiny look and can't draw regular charcoal pencil on top.

Image00012.jpg

I used a stomp to smudge the charcoal. And a tiny stomp to ad some black to the darkest areas in the face.

Image00014.jpg
Image00013.jpg

The tools
DSC_0092.JPG

And finished - photographed and adjusted to look like the real thing.

Image00002.jpg

Hope you enjoyed! And please tell me if you have a better way of doing things. I want to improve (this was one of my ways).


And see my latest my caricature here!

Sverige_jnart

Sort:  

this is awesome! so many details and tiny work, I am impressed!

I'm a big fan if the show. That's an awesome artwork! I wish I had talent like that.

Wow !! ^ ^

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @reko. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jnart to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30