Original Upcycled Mixed Media Art inspired by Nirvana's "Something in the Way" @jessamynorchard

in #art8 years ago (edited)

"They don't have any feelings..."

The song "Something in the Way" by Nirvana has always haunted me. I'm not sure if it's the picturesque description of depressing life as it existed beneath the bridge, the literal tones used in the composition, the expression in Kurt's voice--all of it wraps itself into a song that I've always found to be one of the most haunting stories within a musical track I've ever experienced. It still makes me feel generally uncomfortable, which I think good music and lyrics have the power to do.



However, even as a youngster taking in these tunes, the line "It's okay to eat fish/ Cause they don't have any feelings" always stuck with me. I pondered on it. I've always pondered on it. I have no idea why that particular phrase always hung with me, but it very much has.


When I was browsing for inspirations at my favorite local flea market, I came across a package of old photographs of men fishing. They were very proud standing next to their catches. Then the Nirvana lyrics came back to me. I had to juxtapose them.


I was immediately inspired to create this particular piece after spotting those photographs. I wanted them to live on in a slightly different and perhaps more modern context.


The piece is on recycled canvas and I used acrylic paint, various ink stains, repurposed card stock, found objects, gesso, and mod podge.


As always, any and all feedback is always appreciated.



Follow me @jessamynorchard for more assorted randomness!


Click here to read my Steemit intro to learn more about what I'm all about.

ALL proceeds from my Steemit account go toward furthering my dreams of being a full time artist and creator. This includes needed equipment, recording costs, gas to and from out of state gigs, and things like food when I'm on the road. To be a full-time creator has been my goal for as long as I can remember, and your upvotes absolutely help me get there. All of my love and thanks to you.💚

All photos, unless otherwise credited, are taken or edited/altered by me and are all hosted at Imgur.




Sort:  

thanks for commenting my post. I am a huge kurt cobain fan. Hes one of the biggest influences emotionally in my music. This was a great post, very cool art and translation. huge ups

Thank you. I, too, am a huge Kurt Cobain fan. Amazing poetry always found there.

I really like this collage. I like hearing how you came to make it and what it means to you. Sometimes, I don't get collages - they seem like a collection of things that aren't related, but were on hand. (That's a general statement, not about your collages, specifically. It's my own issue - not with any artist or piece of art.) But this collage means something to me. It doesn't make me say Yes or No, but it makes me think. So that's good art. Thank you.

Thank you so much for those words. Sincerely. I'm so glad to hear this resonated with you as it did with me during its creation.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66361.02
ETH 3462.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20