"Perfectly Imperfect" (Appreciating Oneself Despite of Imperfections)(My entry to @sethlinson Portrait Contest)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Pursuing Perfections



People have always this desire to pursue perfection in any area/aspect in their life. They continue to strive hard pushing their limits to reach "Perfection" in their grasp, or at least close to it. But as saying goes, "Nobodies Perfect", there's nothing wrong about being imperfect, but sometimes these imperfections had lead and resulted to a amazing and beautiful thing in life. Just like the case of this young beautiful and amazing lady, which is the subject of my artwork. Let me share it to you first.

"Perfectly Imperfect"

Beautiful-Eye.jpg

I first saw this girl on TV, where she is being featured on a documentary show here in Philippines. That show is pretty much famous here in Philippines, and if you are being featured on that show, you will pretty have great exposure all over the the country. They also look for Viral videos scattered in the internet, make a research and look for the person who is behind the viral video. To make the story short, this girl (which is my subject) is featured on that show.

I can't remember the exact day I've watch this amazing lady, I think that is two months ago, I can't remember. But the thing that I can always remember is the First time I saw her and her eye is, I left astounded and in awe. What a beauty! those eyes are magnificent for me. It's very rare to see an eyes like hers. It's her eye the reason why she is being featured on the show. To give you an Idea what condition (an amazing condition) she has, let me share a little bit background of it.

About Heterochromia


Heterochromia iridis is a condition in which the iris in one eye has a different color than the iris of the other eye. The iris is the tissue of the eye that surrounds the pupil and imparts a color, whether green, blue, brown, hazel, grey, or other, to the eye. Heterochromia iridis is to be differentiated from heterochromia (difference in color) iridum (within the iris of one eye).

Image Source

Iris color is the result of the pigment that is present in the iris. Brown eyes have large amounts of melanin pigment deposits, and blue eyes have a lack of melanin. Although eye color is inherited, the inheritance pattern is complex, with interaction of more than one gene. These genes interact to provide the full constellation of colors. Other genes may determine the pattern and placement of pigment in the iris, thereby accounting for solid brown as opposed to rays of color. Normally, the two irises of an individual are of the same color. In heterochromia, the affected eye may be hyperpigmented (darker or hyperchromic) or hypopigmented (lighter or hypochromic). Eye color is determined primarily by the concentration and distribution of melanin within the iris tissues.

How rare is heterochromia iridis?

Heterochromia can be present at birth (congenital) or acquired. The incidence of congenital heterochromia iridis is approximately six out of a 1,000, although in most of these cases, it is hardly noticeable and unassociated with any other abnormality.

Heterochromia iridis facts

-Heterochromia iridis is an uncommon condition in which the two eyes are different in color from each other.
-Heterochromia iridis may be congenital (present at birth) or acquired.
-Hereditary heterochromia iridis may be associated with other abnormalities of the eyes or body.
-Acquired heterochromia is usually due to an eye disease.
-If the condition is acquired, treatment may be directed at the underlying cause.
-Colored contact lenses may be used for cosmetic reasons.
-Most cases of heterochromia iridis are mild and do not have associated problems.
Source/Reference

Once in a Blue Moon Condition

What made Julia Ostan's Ostan's (btw, that's her name) condition more interesting is that, not all Filipino that had this condition is not the same as her. Because the color complexion of her eyes had a great difference with each other. Because usually Filipino who have this condition have don't much have color difference with their eyes, for example, Left eye color is "Light Brown", right eye "Dark Brown". But at the case of Julia her eye color is completely different with each other, from a very light color to dark color complexity, which make is it very rare.

"I believe, that in the Philippines with a 100 million people, she is the only one, who has totally blue iris on the left, and totally brown iris on the right" according to Doctor Miguel Sarabia, ophthalmologist . Well that's the most special thing that I would love to hear from a expert if I have that very special condition. Just imagine a 100 million on a country and you're the only one that possess something that they don't have, and that is something very special.

Embracing Self

Julia set as a good example to all of us, where she embraces her self fully. Despite of people that look at hers a different she has the courage to face and prove everyone that this condition she had does not dictate her stand a person. She actually performs really well in her studies and excel well in her academics. And she also join beauty Pageant contest where she can show the world how confident she is, with her special condition.

Here are some of her Photos

22.png


23.png

Image Source

Source

They say, "The Eye is the window to the Soul". Well I want to have that amazing and unique window! I want to open and stare at it everyday. I myself want to have this Special condition just like Julia, the time I saw how mesmerizing and how beautiful this condition is. For me its really cool and I don't mind being different than the usual. But I can't choose what kind of life or condition I can have. I have this life, we have this life to live, and we also have imperfection we are dealing right now. What I learned here is we all have different situation in life, sometimes we want tend to complain why have this and why don't have that, a lots of "whys"! But we need always to remember that appreciate ourselves despite of the Imperfection we had. How can we other start to appreciate us if we ourselves is not proud and ashamed of ourselves.

You might say, "I don't care what other may think of me, I don't f*cking care!". But the question is do you accept and are you proud of yourself. If yes? well I'm pretty much happy for you, what I'm talking about here is, everything starts from our selves, we may all have some flaws and mistakes, but what makes it really a mistakes is if we will not do something about it.

Let's start to work on the things that needs to be worked on. Don't be afraid to commit mistakes, just free yourself try to discover things. If you really want to be a cook, but you terribly suck at it even if you had tried many times. Why not try to be a cook that make food for dogs, a food that dogs will love to eat isn't it amazing? You can still make a living with that. That may sound hilarious somehow, but what I'm trying to point out is bringing out your best despite of your imperfections. Seeking and discovering where you're really good. Remember that there will be always a people that will accept and love you despite of all your shortcoming and imperfections.

If you want the short documentary about Julia Oston you can check it on Youtube!

That's all fellas! Thanks for checking my work, have a nice day ahead!


Btw here's a process I make to achieve this work, this is so far, my favorite of all the portraits if made. This took me 8 hours to complete

Enjoy the Process and Progress of my Work



1.png

2.png

3.png

4.png

5.png

6.png

7.png

8.png

9.png

10.png

11.png

12.png

13.png

14.png

15.png

16.png

17.png

18.png

19.png

20.png

21.png

Btw, the left image is my reference

Untitled-2.jpg

Thanks again guys! Peace!

And you can also check this awesome bloggers ✍

@mikaelasinsuat4
@dandalion
@qyugmo
@ishanvirtue
@ediah
@jgonzalez2134
@looserwin
@kennik

Please do support

@slothicorn
@sndbox
@surpassinggoogle
@anomadsoul
@steemgigs
@steemph
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@artzone

DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

this is a really nice work of art... I'm thinking of how will I learn those crafty craft things? well im not into drawing hahah... congrats on your @bestofph nd @c-squared upvotes... hopefully youll be consistent and fill this platform of those quality content

thank you so much Sir, very much appreciated, thanks for recognizing my work. yeah I will try my best to make quality content like this, I'm not that very good writer but surely will try my best, thanks

be waiting for that...goodluck!!

Congratulations @jeeuuzz, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

thank you so much! @bestofph


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you so much!

🎉 Congratulations @jeeuuzz! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Wow! Thats really awesome sir! Thank you so much! I appreciate it much.

Very good story that prompted you to make that portrait that was amazing

Thank you so much brother!

I love your thorough step-by-step images. Thank you so much for entering the contest! You've been featured in today's showcase of entries.

Thank you so much @sethlinson it's my honor joining your contes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15