Through Time and Space - NEW Original Artwork

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Guys! I completed another brand new miniature mixed media artwork yesterday evening and it's now varnished, photographed and listed for sale amongst its mini-siblings in my store on Etsy!

throughtimeandspace-5.jpg
'Through Time and Space', an original miniature painting from my 3" x 3" mixed media 'Minis' collection.


throughtimeandspace-14.jpg

'Through Time and Space', completed March 6th, 2018. Mixed media on 3" x 3" upcycled archival card. Acrylic paints, Unipin, gel and Posca pens, fabric paint


throughtimeandspace-10.jpg

'Through Time and Space' is a tiny, feature-packed feast of shimmering purples which burst into life when the sun hits them. It looks so different in the sunlight that it's almost unrecognisable! This is one of those artworks where the original is so impossible to replicate that anyone buying it will have a huge advantage over those purchasing prints, as its multi-faceted nature can only truly be appreciated in the flesh...


throughtimeandspace-2.jpg

I find working on these little minis incredibly uplifting. And to my eye, they are as gorgeous as they are diminutive - they don't take up much room on the wall, and they are just super, super cute! They don't take up much space on my studio desk either, meaning I can work on them whenever I like and also work on several of them at a time. That's part of the reason they look so aesthetically pleasing together...

throughtimeandspace-12.jpg

Diminutive they may be, but they have huge amounts of personality! Their small size makes them ideal for placing on a shelf, table or dresser and means they also look great in a collection with other mini paintings such as 'Remember What You Are' and 'Strands In A Web'...I love scattering them around the place in little groups and seeing them interact...


By the way, did you know that the card I use for these miniature paintings would otherwise have gone into the dustbin? I get them from a photographer friend who makes his own mounts and frames for his photography prints. He had previously always thrown these 'middles' in the trash...until he thought of me and wondered whether they'd be useful. They most certainly are!


If you've fallen in love with this painting, you might be interested to know that I have made it available for sale in my store on Etsy. I'm also happy to sell direct - payment accepted via PayPal or, of course, in Steem!


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-financing creative (and radical unschooling Mama), your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome!**

With love,

Jay x

throughtimeandspace-13.jpg

(Note: Apologies for the quality of these photos being lower than my usual standards - my Olympus OMD EM1 died on me and is on its way to Olympus HQ in Portugal for repairs, so, for now, I'm stuck with using my S5 Galaxy camera phone!)

Sort:  

How incredible that this piece of artwork is so tiny! Up close, it looks like an ever-expansive universe. The colors are cosmic. 😍

You've been featured in our latest curation: Ladies of Steemit, Volume 7 | Artist Selection

Keep up the great work! 💓

Thank you so much - I REALLY appreciate the feature! What an awesome initiative! Happy dancing! <3 Jay xx

What a beautiful post in every way. I love your art and I can’t wait to check out your Etsy shop. <3

Awwwww, thank you, @lilyraabe! Your lovely comment and appreciation have really brightened my evening - thank you so much. It's lovely to have met you here on Steemit! <3

Great work @jaytaylor👌👌👌👌👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33