Here’s my latest (8” x 10”) alla prima still life and its development :)

in #art7 years ago

Here’s my latest (8” x 10”) alla prima still life and its development :)



Greetings fellow Steemians!

In today’s post I thought I’d share and discuss my latest alla prima still life.

This one I would say was pretty enjoyable in not only in its simplicity, but in the challenge of capturing chroma as well.

At first I began with a simple block in with thinned burnt umber. I then massed in the darkest shapes including the cast shadow.



Now with a larger brush, I then started to work in some of the background where it met with the edges of the scissors. This part of the task in a way simultaneously refined the initial block in.


Now starting from the inside and moving outwards, I then began to break down the forms and refine the edges of the handle. I would say that this was the most difficult part of the painting.


Once the handle was relatively finished, I then worked on the blades. The lower section of the blades were fun in capturing the subtle reflective value changes.


No I’ve reached the stage where I can go back and refine edges and transitions of the scissors collectively as a whole.


Now at this point I then started to rework the cast shadow and focusing on extending those subtle midtone transitions on the cloth background. From then on I massed in the background in its entirety.


...Aaaannd done!

Scissors Still Life
8" x 10"
Oil on birch

The palette I used for this painting was titanium white, cadmium yellow light, cadmium red, quinacradone rose, burnt umber, sap green, and ultramarine blue


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen
https://jameszenartist.weebly.com/

Sort:  

Wow..it's amazing. You are a really genius. The scissors looks like real.

Thank you so much for the compliment :)

Beautiful James, thank you for posting it. Loved both the process and the finished piece.
Upvoted and followed :)

Thank you so much; I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

That's a nice piece! Now paint a stone and a sheet of paper...

Thank you so much! ha! yeah a rock paper scissors themed work has been on my mind for some time now ;)

Well done. Do I spy an Open Box M?! Such a great easel.

Yes you do! I just love that thing. It's compact, lightweight, and its into my backpack. One of my biggest annoyances with plein air painting is feeling like you're carrying around a campsite you know? ;D Other than that, the only thing that really bugged me about the easel are those 2 metal prongs that are "suppose" to hold your painting, so those had to go! ^^

Oh yeah it looks like you got rid of those, i didn't notice. I've actually had no problems with them, they always hold my paintings very tightly because of the spring action. But my panels are pretty light (ampersand gessobord usually). I wonder why yours didn't work?

Yeah I would use those too, and some lighter birch panels even. I found that they would always slip a little leaving the panel slightly crooked which would annoy the hell out of me! ^^ I also removed them so that if I wanted to, I could work on something a little larger than what the pochade was made for by simply clamping the edges :)

ah, cool. Yeah crooked would be super annoying :)

I love that you broke down how you made this, I found it fascinating. It really does look superb, and it has such a unique texture to it that draws me in to stare. Might be some interesting symbolism here too ; ) I love to follow fellow artists on Steemit! Thanks for sharing your work!

Thank you so much, I really appreciate that :) You know, I'm pretty sure you're correct! You ask any modern psychologist and they'll tell you that everyone is acting out their beliefs, wants, goals, needs, and desires regardless of whether or not they agree or disagree with them on a cognitive level right? ;D I'm glad you enjoyed it.


Hello, @jameszenartist
Your amazing post is selected to appear on @artshares, where we promote, support and help artists just like yourself reach a wider audience on the platform.


Join our project by adding hashtag #artshares in your posts, and receive a free upvote from us. Let's help artists grow on the Steem blockchain!


http://steem.link/Y6GCW

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and enjoy our content :)

Oh my goodness
I swear it was a photograph
you did an excellent job

Thank you so much! I really appreciate the compliment :)

You Made a Good Share
Thank You
wewews (3).gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37