Superheroine Fantasy Hero Commissioned Art [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

SuperHeroine-Header.jpg

In 2009 I was commissioned to illustrate a new superhero character. She was suppose to be modeled like Rapunzel, Sailor Moon, and a girl that the commissioner was going to give this illustrate to as a gift. This made for a pretty special present and she loved it very much!

The Line Art

SuperHeroine-Lineart.jpg

I don't believe I still have the original pencil drawing for this one, so all I can start with is the line art. In 2009 I was illustrating on my desktop computer using the Wacom Bamboo Fun drawing tablet and Corel Painter Essentials, which came bundled with the peripheral. I am pleased that I was able to illustrate the character's face to resemble the girl in the reference photo I was using.

The Flat Colors

SuperHeroine-Flats.jpg

The colors were not specified in the commission, so I was the one to decide. I thought a subdued purple would go well with warm sunset background. Purple is a color of royalty, and Rapunzel is a princess, no? When coloring this piece, I used both Corel Painter Essentials and Adobe Photoshop CS5.

The Finished Illustration

SuperHeroine-Final.jpg

It was important to show her using some sort of superpowers, so I used Adobe Photoshop to create some concentrated lens flares and the liquify tool to drag and create the shapes for each flare. Setting this layer to overlay makes it shine bright. If I could go back and do it again, I would manually paint the clouds in the background. I was too lazy at the time and I used Adobe's built-in cloud filter, which looks pretty bland.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Oohh Nice! 🎨🎉
Beautiful design @jamesartville!
👏👏👏

Thank you so much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

🎉 Congratulations @jamesartville! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Neat! She looks like a confident and interesting super hero ! The pose is great and I like the step by step :D :D :D

I drew her again, which I'll post next week. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77