BRUSH CARE: 🎨How I Clean My Paint Brushes 🖌️

in #art6 years ago

OH, YOU PAINT?

Me too! And, I would like to share how I clean my brushes. Just quick and short. You might do it differently, it's alright! I don't even know if I do it well but anyway here goes.

IMG_20181128_141530_722.jpg

Some dos and don'ts first!

  • While painting, never soak your paintbrushes in your water or linseed oil containers. This will make the handles of your brushes chip their paint.
  • Always wipe them on tissue paper or a cloth when not in use.
  • It helps to change the water when painting so the bristles don't become so stained.
  • If you have to stop painting or leaving for a while, wash and dry your brushes.

WHAT TO CLEAN IT WITH?

answer: SOAP

(1) For watercolor and acrylic (if it did nor harden yet)

Normal detergent or dishwashing liquid is good.

(2) For oil paint

Oil paints require ANTI GREASE soap, yes we can use anti grease soap if you want water based cleaning method.

Or, you can choose paint thinner or sansodor cleaner from the art shop. (These are chemical tho and some have strong smell)

I chose waterbased cleaning method because for one, it's cheaper! And safer

OIL PAINT

This picture is my brush after I cleaned it for the 3rd time. Yes it takes a lot of soaking, wiping and bubbly washes but its safer for the environment and myself to use a soap bar (bareta)
2018-11-28 09.57.54 1.jpg

So I have this detergent soap bar (it contained coconut oil) and, I just gently brushed the soap with the paint brush and see how the bubbles turn into whatever color the brush is.
IMG_20181103_163728.jpg
Remember anti grease!
Oil paint dries slowly so don't worry about drying before getting to clean brushes, But! Wash them asap.

CLEAN BRUSHES
2018-11-28 10.02.33 1.jpg

Clean brushes are happy! Make sure while wet, you shape them altogether, no strands detached. Store in an open dry place so they dry well.

2018-11-28 09.49.19 1.jpg
Never soak for too long
Unless you don't mind the paint to chip off the handle or the paint brushes' glue wears off! The head might dettach, seee of the brushes has no more paint on it, so the wood is seen but anyway, it doesn't matter.

  • Segregate brushes
    The top one has oil paint on it

  • The one with more brushes I used for watercolor.

Watercolor

Watercolor is easier to wash although, staining cannot be helped especially when it's a nylon (plastic) brush.

2018-11-28 09.53.10 1.jpg
Always stroke the bristles upward and shaping them together.
When bristles are not aligned of course its bad for your painting.

One of my brushes looks bad already haha.

2018-11-28 09.55.57 1.jpg
POINTY AND CLEAN
I can start clean on my next painting!

I think warm water can help too but I didn't try.

I HOPE THIS HELPS!

I am currently working on 3 paintings, a little more and I will be done and still, I am continuing.

How do you clean your brushes?

Drop comments below!

INTERESTED IN JOINING A DRAWING CONTEST?

I have my easy mini art contest
https://steemit.com/art/@jacinta.sevilla/easy-mini-art-contest-4-birbs

THANKS FOR STOPPING BY!


🌍🌎🌏
THE ENVIRONMENT CALLS FOR YOU
HELP SAVE HER ♥️✨🕊️

received_2021368747907306.png
Protecting the Wildlife has never been so essential in the history of humanity as it is now. Bring awareness worldwide!
20180313_145342.gif
20180321_112522.gif
20180326_194801.gif
20180411_225249.gif
WE DO NOT INHERIT THE EARTH FROM OUR ANCESTORS, WE BORROW IT FROM OUR CHILDREN
🌏🌎🌍

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend:
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@topkpop
@hiddenblade
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@sethlinson
@mattphilleo
@deemarshall

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla

received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Awwww thanks!!!!!

My partner uses a tiny little container of paint brush cleaner. (Kind of looks like a lip balm tin) but I have no idea what is actually in it. I don't paint a lot, but I have enjoyed painting the minnies that I have painted. Thank you for the tips.

Minis are something still! I dont know that balm thing tho but ill look into it. Thanks hehe

I don't do anything to my brushes that you did't say here, but what I do with small and delicate brushes is to re-use straws, I put them on the tips so they don't lose their shape when I storage them.

Hello @jacinta.sevilla, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83