Six Sad Stories in 6 Words - Part 6 of 6 - An Illustrated Series from J-VO

in #art7 years ago

Part 6

This six word story was really fun to play with. "Epitaph: He shouldn't have fed it".. I mean it brings about a LOT of different ideas - there are a lot of things out there that if you feed them could end up really bad. It brings a lot of different ideas even now.. Gremlins (don't feed them after dark... or bad shit happens).. An alien life form (I think that was just in a movie I saw... "Life" i think it was - they fed it and it grew out of control and went crazy..) - I could go on. In the moment I thought of a Venus Fly Trap. The story starts with "Epitaph," that can only mean that the person referenced is no more - so the consequences of feeding it was definitely grim, to say the least. In my illustration I decided to depict a venus fly trap that had turned on its owner and gobbled him up - lol. It's interesting, because at the time, I had never seen "Little Shop of Horrors" - but I just watched it for the first time about a month ago - and interestingly enough - that was pretty much the plot line - Guy feeds plant- plant grows huge - plant wants food - human food - plant tries to eat everyone. :-P

My process involved working out the shape of the plant and the other elements that help to build the environment a bit - helping to insinuate that a gardener was just eaten - if the bulge in the belly wasn't enough - the gloves, shoes and watering can left behind may be a clue ;) I inked the drawing with my quill pen and then once dry applied the watercolor. The B&W and color gif is below!

"Epitaph: He shouldn't have fed it" - Brian Herbert



I hope you enjoyed the last illustration in this fun series! I hope you got a little smile or chuckle with each one. As always, thanks for reading & your support! Until next time - Steem on! Much Love -

@j-vo

Interested in seeing more posts from me? Here are a few I made over this past week:

Six Sad Stories: See Illustration 5: "It's Behind You - Hurry Before it" - Rockne S. O’Bannon

Steem Wars - Day 6: Color Challenge - Thursday Green - Photos by J-VO - Team USA

Painting with Sparklers - Long-Exposure Photography (Original Photos by JVO)

Art Discovery Contest - USA - Bill Watterson a Hero of Illustration & Comics

The Best Directors - Tarantino, Spielberg & Burton (Original Pen & Ink Illustrations by J-VO)

All photography and creative artwork displayed in this post were created by @j-vo.

Thank you for reading & for your support <3

Sort:  

This upvote, resteem, follow splash looks so good I wanna plagiarize it...

LOL! Thank you @arekwolf - do you want me to make you your own? :)

How much for this service? Lol.
Something in darker tones that match the sarcastic/bloody disposition of my works would be great.

Would you be willing to trade 15 SBD for me to create you a custom set to the description above? I will research your posts more to find something that matches your stylistic aesthetic.

Hey, hold back for now while I’m broke. Laters!

Ok - no worries :) I totally get it - I am enjoying your stories and will continue to keep up with your posts!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by j-vo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42