What does "talent" mean? And does it exist? And my cartoons character oil art - Mike Wazowski, who made me thinking about it

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I watched the " Monsters University" a long time later then it appeared. And liked Mike so much:) He didn't fit the canvas a bit, but who cares?:)

Paited with oil. I always draw bigger eyes for my characters then they really may have, but the size of Mikes eye was enough even for me:)

May be it's just for all my life I feel a bit like Myke in the beginning of the cartoon. That's, by the way, one of the reasons whe I find the phrase "You're so talented" incorrect. Behind every success there's a lot of work. Every hairdresser practiced on fake hait before working with your head. Every doctor spended years of life in the institute to heal you. And every artist made a huge pack of bad drawings before creating a good one.

Talking about art - there's a quote I like:

"Every artist has one thousand of bad drawings inside him. They block the way for good ones and don't let they to come out. The sooner you release the bad ones from inside you - the sooner the good ones will appear"

True. True for any profession:)

I belive in aptitudes, in makings. Sure if one is taller he has more chances to play basketball more successful. But it's yet not everything, right? 

What do you think about it? Are there really talented people, that had to put no effort at all? Or we just haven't seen all their steps to success, and that's why it looks like talent?

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

This has always been a question of mine as well. Throughought my life I've made friends with people who apparently are born with natural talent and don't usually cross roads of frustration on their way to greatness but, I've sat down with some of them and they have shown me their secret and that secret, is passion. If you have genuine passion will always be the gear that will rotate and ignite the motor towards taking action and taking action in practicing, dedication, persistence, consistency, discipline and so on. Never allow the flame of passion go out, keep it lit with hard work and optimism and perseverance and NEVER GIVE UP ON YOUR PROJECTS, keep moving towards them even if its slowly little by little, it ain't about getting there fast its about getting there. Good luck to all my fellow artists on here, both those who appear to not struggle as some of us and those who appear to struggle a lot ;)

So true, by the way. Passion is almost everything. When you have it you're almost doomed to reach success:)

Great painting, I love that movie. I'm a big old softy who loves children's films :-)
I believe there are some truly talented people who don't appear to need to make much effort, but I also believe that talent CAN be learned with just enough dedication, perseverance and stubbornness. Also practice, practice, practice.

Steem on!

Much effort - yes, but no effort at all - unlikely:)
Thank you for your response and yep, steem on!:)

I belive all talent has some hardwork behind it. Some people are just better at making it not look like hard work.

Exactly my point:)

I love Monsters inc, a very good painting and you are very talented :)

Thank you:)

Your welcome :)

Oh wow, really good job! I always have a hard time with paint

I loved the movie :D

Thank you:)
I't awesome, isn't it?:) I like Mike and Sally:) I even bought a Sally cover for my phone,ha-ha:)

I love Sully in the University one. His hair is super cute, haha!

University or Corporation? I'm a bit confused here, which of them came out first:)

Monsters Inc. is the first one. Later they made University :)

I see:) Then I love the second one most, the University:)

yes, good art will appear if you keep working on it

True, right?:)

I recently got in an argument with someone who said I was "naturally" talented at art. I told them that is kind of them, but I didn't pop out of my mother able to paint and draw. There was lots of practice and discipline involved. Particularly to get to the point I'm at now.

I told them, "I know you mean well, but when you tell a creative person they have natural talent, you are diminishing the work and effort they have put into their craft. The dedication it takes to be a master at what you do."

I think after explaining it that way, they understood my perspective better. Natural disposition to a skill may exist, but it is nothing compared to dedicated hard work.

I know you mean well, but when you tell a creative person they have natural talent, you are diminishing the work and effort they have put into their craft. - EXACTLY!

There definitely are talented people, but I don't think talent really means squat unless you still put in the hard yards to develop it XD

I figure from the purely unscientific and anecdotal evidence so maybe it doesn't count ;)

Easiest anecdote: I have three kids. All three kids do gymnastics. My daughter is very good. She has a natural body awareness and the gymnastics comes naturally to her. She's been in regional and states competitions. And she works her arse off trying to be exceptional rather than just good. My younger son started at the same time and the older one a year later. They both work hard and do their best but they don't have her talent or her natural body awareness, and it shows. The older one is eligible to go into competitions this year because there's not many boys, the younger one probably could if he had the attention span but we've all decided it would be in everyone's best interests if he didn't XD

You know how much time and energy you pour into refining your craft so you may not necessarily see yourself as particularly talented. Doesn't matter that much in the grand scheme as the amount of work shows and the main thing is you're enjoying yourself :D

Sure someone will reach more sucess and someone less, but they all worked to reach the goal anyway:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38