You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What does "talent" mean? And does it exist? And my cartoons character oil art - Mike Wazowski, who made me thinking about it

in #art7 years ago

I recently got in an argument with someone who said I was "naturally" talented at art. I told them that is kind of them, but I didn't pop out of my mother able to paint and draw. There was lots of practice and discipline involved. Particularly to get to the point I'm at now.

I told them, "I know you mean well, but when you tell a creative person they have natural talent, you are diminishing the work and effort they have put into their craft. The dedication it takes to be a master at what you do."

I think after explaining it that way, they understood my perspective better. Natural disposition to a skill may exist, but it is nothing compared to dedicated hard work.

Sort:  

I know you mean well, but when you tell a creative person they have natural talent, you are diminishing the work and effort they have put into their craft. - EXACTLY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62