Upcycled Chess Set, I Am Making... Part 4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

IMG_2870.jpg

Last night and this morning, I wrapped the under-structures in paper mache. Here is a King, Queen, Rook, Bishop & Knight. I still have 2 more Bishops to make and then 16 Pawns, from scratch. I presume, I will paint these with white base paint and then use sharpie for the details of the white pieces, and not quite sure how I will do the black pieces yet. I am hoping to not have to buy anything to make this set. Why? I don't like to shop during this season. Plus I don't have much money right now. I do have a piece of plywood that I found on the street that I will use for the board. And I prefer to use what I have or what I can find, rather than BUY MORE SHIT.

Why Make This Set?

  1. I wanted to learn the ideas behind the Masonic Tracing Board Chess Floor. I learn best by making and by doing.
  2. My roommate knows how to play chess, as I figured this might be a good way to get him out of his room. He's a bit anti-social and we have been living in this apartment for 3 years, but before that he was a homeless guy. He doesn't know where he fits in the world. He is stuck. He's 65 and he has been a crazy homeless guy for most of his life.
  3. I prefer to make stuff out of trash than buy stuff - paper mache and salt-flour dough is good in this super commercial world
  4. Chess and the Tarot - another "game" I don't know how to play, both are based on the Slave-system - on the hierarchy. I want to understand this way of thinking so that I can integrate it and potentially create a different sort of game that is based on equality and horizontal communication - even a Tarot Deck that is horizontal - because I don't like to reinforce this imagery of a Monarchy and the Common People -

As Above, So Below

We are being sprayed like bugs, because we spray bugs. We are being farmed, because we farm. As I am being payed NOTHING and treated like a slave for working caring for the elderly and infirm - while people trade bitcoin and make a ridiculous living out of it, I try to set an example for another way to do things. I am ANTI materialism. I can imagine a world in which we live in a "gift" economy on this earth and work with our animal brothers and sisters to share this world rather than destroy it and them...

Part 1 https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/i-am-going-to-make-a-chess-set-part-1
Part 2 https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/i-am-making-a-chess-set-part-2-king
Part 3 https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/chess-set-i-am-making-part-3-kings-2-bishops-2-queens-and-4-rooks

Sort:  

This is so interesting - reading about your journey with making this chess set. I used to play chess a LOT when I was in elementary school. I was taught chess by the janitor at my school. He was an old man who was originally from Russia and if I remember right, he knew about 7 languages. He taught some of the other kids too, and eventually we all started a chess club and we met at lunch everyday- with the janitor as our chess teacher. It was awesome! I just stumbled upon your most recent post about the chess pieces, and am going back and reading all your past posts about it. Thanks so much for sharing this! You are inspiring to perhaps make my own handmade set in the future! I have been making paper mache maracas the past couple weeks.

What a GREAT story @pyrowngs! You might make that one into a post! That "janitor" is like the "janitor" in Bruce Almighty, huh? Wow... those were the days my friend, we thought they would never end... The Janitor actually taught you something that really helped you in life - the rest of the "teachers" maybe not so much... I made this set because I looked on ebay to see if I could buy one and they all seemed very flimsy in my price range, so I just decided to make one - and try NOT to buy anything since I have a ton of art supplies... and then it occurred to me that I could "give" it to my roommate for "xmas" so that he could teach me the game - and get him out of his room to socialize more...i am so glad the story inspired you! I am going to do something with papermache and salt-flour dough now - like maybe some portraits? Not sure.

Was just browsing and wanted to ask how you make your papier mache, id normally use wallpaper paste but in Thailand , we dont have much wallpaper, so whats the way you use please ?
Anyway, then i read you footnote philosophy, brilliant and fabulous ideals. Im hating this wave of greed surrounding bitcoin, a gifting or even trading econony would be so humanist and beautiful.
Sorry the chess set isnt really rocking my world, Im a philistinecwhdn it comes to art but im now going to follow you and do some reading. Best wishes and health to you :-)

1: 3/4 white glue to 1/4 water (or if using a good, thick glue, like elmers you can do 1/2 and 1/2)
COOK METHOD: 1 part flour to 5 parts water... boil about 3 minutes and let cool (my favorite! it's the cheapest method and is nice and smooth)
Or...1 part flour to 1 part water. Stir together.

I am currently using wallpaper paste cuz I have some...

The SYSTEM has to change for real change to occur- the currency is all limiting if the system is hierarchical which equals slavery - the haves and have nots switching seats on the Titanic

thanks for that ! will be getting sticky and messy with some toddlers I teach here !

oh cool!!! make sure to post!

thats a great art ever i like it..and best of luck

@minnowpond has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

i want that

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @in2itiveart to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96