Daily Doodle #14: NightJarsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The Grumpiest and Smallest of the Owl-like Creatures...


1.png

I actually don’t know anything about this bird. I selected it because when I saw it in the google search results, I thought, “what the hell is a Nightjar?” I didn’t read up on them too much, or at all, really, but I can tell you, they look like grumpy, little owls. Their little angular heads made for some very fun to draw shapes. I couldn’t find a wide variety of poses, though. Regardless, they were interesting to draw.

2.png

One of my favorite images of this bird was one of a mother Nightjar sitting on the ground with her chick sort of nestled under her breast feathers (you can check out the image for yourself right here). Both of them are looking towards the camera with faces that seems to say “Why the hell’d you wake me up, bro?” I kind of imagine that’s what Ripley and I are going to be like once I start staying home with her.

3.png

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. I’m drawing day to day, so if I fall behind, I’ll have to do another throwback. Also, if there is any animal you want sketched (it doesn’t have to be a bird), make sure to let me know in the comments. I mostly just meander around google image search refinements until I find something I like, so I’m always open to suggestion.

Until next time!

full.png


13 June 2018
12:04 - 12:51
(47 minutes)


I love feedback, so if you have any questions, ideas, or requests, make sure to leave a comment below. And, if you need more fun stuff to shove into your eyeballs, hop over and check out my YouTube channel, Chimp Skipper, or my online portfolio.

#art #sketch #drawing #pencil #slothicorn #dailydoodles #dailysketches #animals #avian #birds #owls #nightjar #nocturnal #wildlife #creatures #cute #horns #creative #creativity #cute #small

Sort:  

Lol right!? What the hell Is a NIGHTJAR!? 😆. When I read the title I thought you just created. I need to look this thing up, the sketches look awesome though

Ha, yeah, I've just been looking through lower classifications of birds on google and thought it was such an odd name. Then I saw it and thought it was kind of cute, so now we have this post. Thanks!

Congratulations @hglucky13! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Grumpy little guys indeed. You may want to draw and opossum (or possum as we call them in the U.S.). They are very odd creatures. I got to babysit some for a friend who had a license to save them and built a possum halfway house in her back yard.

Possum’s are oddly cute. They don’t seem to friendly, though. I really wanted to pet a baby possum I saw a few years back, but thought better of it when it opened its mouth wide and showed me its sharp teethies.

Possums are very sweet and shy and even if they bite, it is only because they are scared to death. One bit me when, while babysitting, when I dragged it out from under a piece of furniture. It didn't hurt. Problem is that they do not live for very long - a couple of years, and they get sick easily. And they will try to eat anything they come across, like tubes of toothpaste or cleaning products.

Aw, poor dudes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88