Painting spaceships with watercolor - Guild Heighliner (Progress report)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Docking_Spaceship_N1.jpg

Discover the different stages of an illustration I did for a Berliner techno club, Suicide Circus. The cosmic thematic really fits with the events. As what you would hear there is electronic music in the vein of Kraftwerk, Anthony Rother, Drexciya and Dopplereffekt. The organisators, @ax10m are Inviting a wide spectrum of artists like Cosmic Force, MNLTH and Boris Divider just to name a few.

This was the sketch I proposed to the commissioners.
1.jpg

I don't have a picture from the pencil, so here's the ink part.
20180116_134052 copy.jpg

First layers of light blue. I am not sure anymore but it's a mixture of various blue with a tendency to get greener as closer the shapes are. You can see that I emphase the "terminator", the parts that are at the limit where the light from the "space window" hits.
20180116_160544 copy.jpg

Once the volumes are more or less in place, I am starting to add also more brownish colours to closer shapes. Not everywhere and more like if they are different parts or stains. Also adding more details with thinliners and others black ballpoint pens.
20180117_193311 copy.jpg

Now here's one of the first layers of this window to space. I used first this orange-like texture then let some blue and greenishes on some edges to blend themselves within, using various drying times. Added more reds later, always very thin layers.
IMG_20180117_212402_804 copy.jpg

The planets, the stars ... and the slight pinkish gloomy light to the mega-structures. Almost done!
20180118_233139 copy.jpg

And here's the flyer/poster for the event.
Spaceship5_flyer1.jpg

I hope you liked this post!

For more art, check my official website http://www.haedre.com

You can also support me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

Or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Please consider to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Man you are always kickin it with your art! I wish I could get to this level of painting. Your style reminds me of 80's anime like Thundercats. Did you ever watch this? It's delightful to see all the detail you put into your work, and the technique you use to depict space, perspective.
Thank you for sharing this process.

Thank you @doodledanga! Hell yeah I was watching all these stuff from the 80's! I was also fan of Ulysses31, Fist of the north star, Cobra, Captain future, Arkadia, Spartakus.. ah man, there was so many, most were awesome!! Good times!
Cool if you enjoyed the post!

Wow.. I had never even heard of any of these! I was too young, bro. I did see some that were still on air when I was a kid, but I was trying to think of names and only thundercats came to my mind :D Will check them out!

Keep up the good work!

Fist of the north star is badass and totally epic!

Woah thats soo nice design! Liked the Sci-fi theme here. Upvoted & Followed Hopefully u can check out my latest designs too. Thx

Hi @donzet! Thank you for commenting. Sure, will check your page =)

your work is wonderful! :-)

Amazing work, with so much detail.

Glad you like appreciate @opheliafu -)

Your work is amazing :) Really , its cool

Thanks for your comment!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Woah... That is gorgeous! I love the space them (my own stuff is often spacey) but wow, you often see it in watercolour. Truly beautiful!

Thank you very much for commenting @mandelsage! True there are not so many with watercolour. I think to paint space it's rather a good technique. The ony minor thing with watercolour is that it's very difficult with big format. You can also see that they are rare.

No problem! It's always a pleasure to find good artists here! I've followed you and will be watching your blog with anticipation for new work ^^ .. One day is one day, I'll try some watercolouring too...

Thanks ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by haedre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

i loooooooooooove this one, @haedre....!!! well, i love almost all of your stuff if not everything XD but i love this one <3 the perspective is amazing and the detailing is spectacular and the colour is super * ___ *

what a lovely work <3

upvotes and resteems

@veryspider! The most art supportive Steemian!! Always a pleasure to read your comment! Thanks!!!!
Yeah this is also one of the last and I am also very happy how it turned out.
Bests!!!!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88