How I paint sequential art - The Techno-Templar #22

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The making of a sci-fi and surreal comic with watercolour and inks.

page 2 EN Crop.jpg

Hi! Here is the 22nd page of my homemade graphic-novel "Devlok, the Techno-Templar". On this page, the train carrying our protagonists arrives to its destination, the loot is unloaded on conveyors and fed to the Node 32's mega-structure ...

Devlok, the techno-templar_30.jpg

Below you can see some parts of the process.

The (very) rough story-board.
script page 2 & 3 draw crop.jpg

The (cheap mechanical) pencil. On 300g. Arches paper. Tensed on a wood board. For this panel, I modelised very roughly that trumpet-shaped tower in 3D with Sketchup. So, I could have a model to look at for the form, lights and shadow.
IMAG6652.jpg

Inking with various thinliners.
IMAG6700 NET.jpg

Almost all the colors are done already!
IMAG6757 NET.JPG

IMAG6772_wat.jpg

Thanks for having read! If you'd like to see the previous pages, simply -follow and- scroll down my profile.

If you are interested in the physical book(s) take a look at my Bigcartel's page http://www.haedre.bigcartel.com

Don't forget to check my official website for more art! http://www.haedre.com

You can also support me through http://www.patreon.com/haedre

And/or directly with cryptos!

BTC: 13crkJP7G23sPeud2WnBmM9hbjze57f4o9

ETH: 0xa7B61e88d8ce1aBD543f80924F5f6D9f33E85648

Thanks again! Please consider to
upfostee.gif

Sort:  

Love the design of the world/atmosphere!

Thank you @jpgaltmiller! It's very appreciated ;)

Amazzzzzzzzing, as usual :D Love love love your style <3 Such attention to details and great control with the inking * ___ *

upvotes and resteems

Thank you so much for your attention and support @veryspider! I am really happy to see you dig this!!

The colors look nice! Any thoughts you want to share on why you chose those colors? Thanks for sharing your process.

Thank you for your comment and question @midlet! hmm I am not so technical and I like to experiment so I never really know how it'll end but in this case (page), we're in a rather metallic, nano-based environment, thus the greenish/bueish tones (with rusted parts, because everything is billions of years old). The average colours are also a bit dictated by the "zone" from the "Hyperhedron" (that universe where the story takes place) where we are. So I'd say it is always a mix of the colours I want to see and unexpected results than a very planned idea.

Cool! Thanks for the reply. Yea, I'm just always curious about how different artists work out their choices :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by haedre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You're of great help @minnowsupport! Thanks!

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Hello friend. U can use #smartworld tag and perticipate in pencil drawing contest (weekly). Check latest post at @smartworld for detail info. Good luck

Well you already know how much I love your stuff 😁

Haha, thanks anyways!! ;)

Oh my, this scene looks amazing. I admire the rounded edges in your structured environment–to me it's a sign of next-level architectural intelligence. This world you're creating is awe-inspiring to me. I'll keep my eye on you and your work.

Hey @cabelindsay! You're right =) it is indeed a next-level architectural intelligence, as this universe was designed by powerfull A.I's and made of (the future of) nano-machines. Thank you for your interest and yeah, more is coming ;)

Very impressive. It looks very ornate and detailed, especially the tower. Do you know how long it took you to go through the complete process—concept, storyboard, pencil, ink and color? It looks quite time consuming with all of the detail. There must come a point where you say, "That's it! Good enough!" or you could go on forever!

Thank you for commenting @glenalbrethsen! Happy to see you dig the ornamental side, to me it is partly to add unnecessary things to the art, partially to say that art shouldn't respond to something "necessary", it is a way to express yourself before all and unnecessary things are some the most human, because only us can like something that "is not usefull" or just there to please the eye for a few seconds. This is where we differenciate with selling toilet paper :D (altough shitting on this money-looking toilet paper also adds happiness)

Time to make this? You mean for a page of for the entire book? For a page it's usually between 3 days to sometimes 2 or even more weeks. For the entire book, around a year (counting every steps yeah).

And actually, painting on a real support is great to see when "That's it, good enough!", the UNDO and the plethora of possibilities from digital tools (in music and grahics) can also be a trap, many people end up not knowing when it's finished.

Well, I suppose you could have gone very simple. I tend to like detail, even if it may not be useful, just because, too me, it means the artist was interested in what they were trying to portray and that they were willing to take the time to do it. In graphic novel art, or comic book art, there always seems to be a deadline, which is why I asked about how long it took, since I could see by this one page that you weren't rushing to meet a deadline. Unless you're super, super, ultra fast, which would be awesome!

I've had very limited experience with drawing (all when I was much younger), but trying to make things 'perfect,' or what I interpreted as perfect, took up way too much time, and in the end, it didn't really show. The observer wasn't going to see the countless hours spent.

I've had more experience in attempting to perfect what I've written, which is very much a similar thing, although currently, being minimalist, or telling the story in as few words as absolutely necessary is more en vogue, so the perfecting comes in the paring down to the bare minimum, something I don't think I like so much. I understand the reader should use their imagination, so that's fine, I guess, but I'd like them to see what I see, too.

With art, you can portray exactly what you see, if you can get what's in your mind to manifest through your fingers onto the screen or the page.

You should check artists like "Philippe Druillet" if you like the ornamented style ;)

Very nice. I may have actually seen his art before. Or at least the style and name is familiar. Is he one of your inspirations?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55