You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I paint sequential art - The Techno-Templar #22

in #art6 years ago

Very impressive. It looks very ornate and detailed, especially the tower. Do you know how long it took you to go through the complete process—concept, storyboard, pencil, ink and color? It looks quite time consuming with all of the detail. There must come a point where you say, "That's it! Good enough!" or you could go on forever!

Sort:  

Thank you for commenting @glenalbrethsen! Happy to see you dig the ornamental side, to me it is partly to add unnecessary things to the art, partially to say that art shouldn't respond to something "necessary", it is a way to express yourself before all and unnecessary things are some the most human, because only us can like something that "is not usefull" or just there to please the eye for a few seconds. This is where we differenciate with selling toilet paper :D (altough shitting on this money-looking toilet paper also adds happiness)

Time to make this? You mean for a page of for the entire book? For a page it's usually between 3 days to sometimes 2 or even more weeks. For the entire book, around a year (counting every steps yeah).

And actually, painting on a real support is great to see when "That's it, good enough!", the UNDO and the plethora of possibilities from digital tools (in music and grahics) can also be a trap, many people end up not knowing when it's finished.

Well, I suppose you could have gone very simple. I tend to like detail, even if it may not be useful, just because, too me, it means the artist was interested in what they were trying to portray and that they were willing to take the time to do it. In graphic novel art, or comic book art, there always seems to be a deadline, which is why I asked about how long it took, since I could see by this one page that you weren't rushing to meet a deadline. Unless you're super, super, ultra fast, which would be awesome!

I've had very limited experience with drawing (all when I was much younger), but trying to make things 'perfect,' or what I interpreted as perfect, took up way too much time, and in the end, it didn't really show. The observer wasn't going to see the countless hours spent.

I've had more experience in attempting to perfect what I've written, which is very much a similar thing, although currently, being minimalist, or telling the story in as few words as absolutely necessary is more en vogue, so the perfecting comes in the paring down to the bare minimum, something I don't think I like so much. I understand the reader should use their imagination, so that's fine, I guess, but I'd like them to see what I see, too.

With art, you can portray exactly what you see, if you can get what's in your mind to manifest through your fingers onto the screen or the page.

You should check artists like "Philippe Druillet" if you like the ornamented style ;)

Very nice. I may have actually seen his art before. Or at least the style and name is familiar. Is he one of your inspirations?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69