Discovering a new Medium of Art: Pastels

in #art7 years ago

Hello Everyone!

As promised in my previous posts I was going to venture into a different medium of art. I am now all in with soft and oil pastels. I bought more supplies you see below today. The soft pastels are on the cheaper end but the paper and pastel pencils I bought today were not cheap. I figure if I'm going to do something I'm going to do it right.

If I really get into this I'll save up for a Rembrandt Soft Pastel box. They are over 100$ usd for pastels. Crazy, but good tools make good work.

The last post I did "Midnight Sky" was done with oil based pastels. What I noticed is oil based pastels aren't the easiest to blend together. It is doable, but for what I wanted to achieve I switched to soft pastels.

Pastels from what I am learning can be applied to many surfaces not just "toothy" paper. They can work on wood and stone surfaces as well, amongst others. Which is pretty cool for exploring new places to draw.

I am going to be working on some pastel art the rest of this week. One of them is going to be for the "GRE3N Makes You Art", on-going project I am working on. That person might actually get it delivered to them at some point if I can spare a few bucks to ship it out. (I'm not cheap just living that check to check life :)

All and all I am really enjoying this new style of art work. With soft pastels you can make some really good detailed and vibrant pieces.

Stay tuned!

If you enjoy my work:

Meme Challenge: #29 Temple Run
Pastel Art - Midnight Sky
Meme Challenge #28 - Spidey Senses
GRE3N Makes U Art - @clevercreator - Goldfish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59