My 1st attempt at Pastels - #1 - Midnight Sky

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

I made this today with pastels. I didn't use any other tools but them. The drawing was made on thicker white based paper. "Midnight Sky", the inspiration came from the vast information I read online about pastels. The last time I touched pastels I was a teenager. It was a lot different then the mediums I am used to. Messy to!...actually wasn't too bad lol.

I am trying to break out of the pencil and inking style I am custom to. Trying to broaden my skills into other area's. I used to be afraid I couldn't do other things like pastels, painting, etc. etc. There is only one way to learn, keep trying! and practice! and then try again! and....again!

I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did making it!
Leave me your thoughts and critique in the comments.



If you enjoy my work:


Much thanks!!

Previous Posts:
Meme Challenge #28- Spidey Senses Fail
Color Challenge: Purple
Always make time for Family
Color Challenge: Yellow

Sort:  

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thank you!

simply amazing.
that old tree, almost dying has no leaves and the sky.
pure beauty.

thank you, never tried scenery before. It can tell a whole story just by looking at it. Have a good day.

yeah it is.
Oh it's your first work on scenery.
wow, how could anyone does so much better in first appearance.

I'm mostly a cartoonist and graphic artist. Trying to broaden my art styles into new mediums. :)

Now i got it, without such talent none could reach that level.
great job and best of luck.
keep impress us with such work.

You'll have to wait your turn, sir.

What? Lol...

Are you threatening me!?

Lol no

You can take me, but you will never take my bunghole, Hm heh.... For I am the Great Cornholio Hm heh I have no bunghole, hm heh...

Very nice. Starry starrryy niiiiiiiiiiiiiiight.

Lol thank you!

Pretty! Totally get the sense of motion like in those trippy timelapse videos. well done!

Thank You!

Nice job buddy. The use of your sunset oranges and red offsets the darks and blues just perfectly!!!

Thanks, glad you liked it!

@gre3n I really like this. I haven't done pastels since high school.

Great work for your first attempt in such a long time!

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45