Wealth Panther!!!

in #art7 years ago

I'm a rookie here on steemit, been here less than a month, but already I have had the chance to meet a ton of great people. I was crazy lucky my first week to get noticed by @saywha and @m31 of the @ocd team. They even contacted me through my instagram to make sure I wasn't an impostor...or a robot hahahaha. One of my posts was chosen for the daily resteem and everything just grew from there. It was the catalyst to get invited to a great community of artists here on the platform, i'm finding incredible art/artists on the daily. Thanks again @in2itiveart for so many great tips on posting, art, etc.!!!

Anyway before I get to sappy hahaha, i asked @saywha what would be something I could draw for him. I love to do/ trade art with other artists. He asked for a Panther, something I had never drawn before so I was really up for a little challenge. After many days of "sex panther" jokes, I finally got serious and painted this little postcard watercolor. He really asked for a "wealth panther" so I thought instead of just blasting steem logo's all over it, I would paint him in the steem colors..WEALTH PANTHER for real!!!!! I tried to document a cool amount of the process as well as some of the supplies I used. Thanks for checking this out, and thanks again to everyone who has shown me love my first month here.

final outside.jpg

Okay so here's the initial sketch... first I like to go real loose then tighten it up with some quick sketchy lines... trying to get a little flavor in there haha

sketch 1.jpg

sketch 2.jpg

Next I learned it's so much easier if I just scan it into photoshop and rescale it to whatever size I'm painting on... Then I print and cut out a stencil... the time it saves u would not imagine

Stencil cat.jpg

After I do a little pencil outline... the mess starts up...

1.jpg

The hardest part is letting it dry between layers lol

paint 2.jpg

Here's the paints/ pens i used to get the colors... personally expensive to cheap, paint is paint. I usually water the hell outta it anyway so i'm not the best spokesman hahaha

paints.jpg

Once it starts to feel right, not really sure how else to explain that part haha, then it's time to bust out the pens and get to the line work... prob my favorite part.

line 1.jpg

After getting a good outline I try and get some of the line weights in before details...

line 2.jpg

Now i usually get out some color pens and add a little extra jazz...

color lines.jpg

Little close up...

close up.jpg

The pens I like the most.... are of course the hardest to find. For some reason companies in the US don't like to go much smaller than 0.5 pen sizes, and for a lot of the little things I do I might as well be drawing with a fat tip sharpie. These are the best ones I found, made in Japan, they know how to do pens out there!!! My favorite size is 0.25, but when i'm in more of a hurry a 0.35 or 0.4 does the trick just as well.

pens.jpg

Here's one more shot showing off the backside as well, just scribble an address and throw this bad boy in the mail.... done it many times and they make it there in really good condition believe it or not.

final postcard.jpg

Again I can't thank everyone enough for all the love I have been shown, and hope I can pay it back so we can all grow together!
@saywha let me stalk you so I can mail u this....i mean what!? let me just uhhhh... mail u this? lmao

Instagram: @Cardboart

Sort:  

Give a cookie to the rookie!

hahaha thanks man.... thanks to you as well i think u have upvoted every post i have done!! mad love homie

Yeah I have a crush for what you do, so I created a rule on steemvoter to vote for you everytime you post something. You deserve it! ;)

:) thanks man... so glad your enjoying this art journey we going on together!!

You got cred . nice work !!! I normally don't comment on art but you deffo got something !!!

thanks a lot man!!

This post received a 2.62% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gotmeens! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Cool art. Enjoy the ride ^^

:) Thanks again

Letting dry between layers is one of the hardest parts of using wet media, I agree. And yes! Fine pens are not something one finds "randomly" here.

Glad I found your work here on steemit, there's always room for another great artist ☺

I'm so impatient lol... the worst part about those super fine tips pens if they dry out at all in the tip it kinda screws the whole thing... countless times i have had to get rid of basically new pens... and then gotta sit on top the mailbox and stalk the mailman until the new ones arrive.... Step ur pen game up MERICKA!!!

Yeah, they pretty much turn into needles that look a lot like pens - very disappointing any time that happens. Time to invest in an untapped American niche market!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gotmeens to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I want it too. I like colors on it and its eyes. Looks kinda realistic to me. I think it's so much better when you take photo from near. I like details. And by the way it's good idea to scan it as well.

Thanks a lot... i love to do art for people and then surprise them with a little mail... even though i couldn't hold back the surprise on this one.. had to post as soon as it was done hahaha

Congratulations @gotmeens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30