Please, tell me something. A Response verse thanks to @carmalain7.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This piece of writing (I'm not sure how to classify it), is very much drawn from one of Steemit's greatest poetic treasures @carmalain7.

After hearing @carmalain7 spoken word I asked if I could write a response.

In that time I have lost my words. I have tried to recapture them here. To tell him how much I appreciate his work and have enjoyed hearing his Spoken word on DTube.

I have had times when I felt thought blocked before. It is frustrating, but I'm sure it is a perfect reflection of my need for balance in life.

Thank you for letting me hack at your work @carmalain7.

Although you did give me the go-ahead during a much more productive period, I am grateful and will have another try when the fog lifts.

With his permission I used his poem The Way We Used To, for inspiration, to help me find my words again.

Here it is.

I actually wrote it twice. Earlier in the night I wrote a version and wiped it accidently, wept, and I wrote this completely different one, as the sun came up.

I am completing it now, as my family leave for the day.


Please, tell me something.

Once again he speaks to me The way we used to
Drawn to his verse as I am at this hour,
To comfort solitude of nocte ruminations, rehashed notions, revised quotes, regrets, pretty ideas and dreams not realised yet
As vivid as the days are monotoned.

PSX_20180302_080634.jpg

Please, tell me something, anything,
Words carry me,
Cycling through the hours
Clock watching
And running around
My head in a TV marathon
The colours of the screen hypnotic
A mesmerising splash of halogen to assist in the denial of circadian truths.
I find myself again
Trapped in an endless night
When we could be sleeping.

PSX_20180302_075651.jpg

Listening to the buzz
My ears
Join the cacophony of fridge white noise, TV turned down low in an attempt to not disturb the rested, the grind of my computer overheating,
And tears that never escape to flow,
Eb brimming at the glazed banks.
Rolling waves crash down behind eyes that should feel heavy,
blurry yet fixed upon a place past the TV screen, peering into the world within.

PSX_20180302_075529.jpg

Wasting away
Awaiting the day
To lace up a smile
So others can embrace the sun
Join the world of outside and people and the possibility of chance meeting and surprise circumstance,
Their day stretching out
In chromatic bright lit featured editions.
As I prepare for another
Reverse monochrome,
I bid them farewell and my love.

PSX_20180302_080110.jpg

Back tracking,
At six
The slightest commotion announces the night near compete,
The welcomed
Carefully place barefoot
Emerges with a creaking of a door handle,
A spark a giggle and a snap
He awakes bright in an instant.

Like a streak of light crossing the sky
My very own dog star
Sprang from the night
Down from the heavens
Dribbling as a brook
Like Sirius ascending, to declare the dawn.
He settles, residing in my little ones eyes.

So dark are his eyes
A task it is distinguishing iris from pupil,
Depth of dark layers
The night sky within
Brightest before dawn
Just as the wolf's blazing trail
Heads east
Greeting the sun.
As canis major shines brightest,
My own gift from heaven
My own son
Lights my dawn.
With the glint of the chieftain
Illuminating the morning
Declaring the night fin.

He clamber onto my lap,
Tucks me up tight in an a blanketed embrace of Reverent appreciation,
Each morning I hold him and wish it never to end, that he never grows tired,
In that moment I know all days are numbered, only rendering them more cherished.

I feign I've just risen
Cast a silent prayer towards the now bright sky,
A prayer that hums in my heart and lingers on the tips of my fingers too
Pleading for anything.
Please, tell me something.

Leaning on my strongest allies, denial, and stubbornness,
As I enter the day,
Again caught inbetween
Every grey day the same hue
If only I could play it in reverse.

PSX_20180302_080449.jpg

My days are spent wading through guilt, thicker than stagnating milk,
Chemically engineered to complete the hours, auto piloted on cruise control, teetering like tricky pins and occasionally coming a foul of the slippery rocks.

But always beginning with one hundred kisses and a word, love.
That single word aids all
Provides the necessities to complete just one more day, in full knowledge that no prayer will deliver
an end.


Please take the time to check out @carmalain7's work.
This latest piece for the writing impact challenge is mind blowing.

Here are the links to the piece I referenced.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@carmalain7/ogkrhvx6
https://steemit.com/poetry/@carmalain7/the-way-we-used-to


IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

omg, look at this! I'm going to cry, this is all so nice and amazing. It's like the companion piece that 'The Way We Used To' never knew it had - an older sibling to say that help is not on the way, it will get worse before it gets better, but also too that there is comfort in the knowing.

There is comfort to in the kinship found in others, the ships passing in the night where, sometimes, with just the right conditions, you too can hear them sending the same message across the telegram - we are moving forward, destination: unknown.

I want to leave more thoughts on your words, but have not the time now - will soon be back, @girlbeforemirror! Until then, just know you have my most heartfelt of thanks for all these incredibly kind words and this tribute.

It is a true honor. z_thank_you.png

(p.s. I too have lost whole poems, though, this due to my inability to remember them - I take pages and pages of notes and outlines when I try to write or compose most of what I do. Sometimes it works perfectly, sometimes they mean nothing to me the weeks or months later after working on them.

The worst by far, though, is when I lose them. It can be so discouraging! Can't tell you how much it means to me that you overcame this challenge to gift me and every reader with this piece, @girlbeforemirror - it couldn't exist without you! wrapped in the blankets and search for a word for peace in sleep, I would never have lived these moments - thank you for overcoming and sharing!!)

I promise it does get easier. Not life, but enduring, you somehow learn to sit next to it. You referenced denial which was pretty amazing. I always value denial as a tool. It is a very valuable quality / emotion that allows you to continue.
Denial and another favourite of mine Radical acceptance, it's a thing.

Mine usually look like this. I thought I would try to sit at the computer, like a normal person, back to my scribble. Although I have had attempts at epiphanies lately that are illegible even to myself Half an hour later. 😂
PSX_20180302_091511.jpg

I was checking up on you. I saw a post earlier on accidentally deleting a post and was revisiting. Then i saw this and its alot. I really love your art. <3)))

It was one of those nights, without even a wink. I have the day to rest, for that I am grateful.

Those are the worst, i hope you rest good.

Argh! It's maddening when we lose original work, isn't it? Regardless. I am truly blown away by your drawing and the words... my goodness, the words have taken my breath away.

I haven't decided if the night is my friend or foe. It seems that I'm connected to the night and the daytime is for connecting to everyone else. It's always been this way for me. But I know the feeling of sleepless hell and getting from one moment to the next; being a functioning human with a well-placed smile because I was the world to my baby boys.

Mer! hi!

How are you?
So cool to see you pop up!

I'm good! Still chasing down that work/life/fun balance. LOL

I have come to a bit of a stand still with that chase. I would be happy to any of those to my juggling act.

U have nice rhythm in your lyrics.. Keep the thing up.... Moreover feeling sad for ur wiped out post...

No worries. These things are less dramatic I'm the light of day.

This one is really awesome..
And you found the strength to write another after deleting the first one, that's really great

Oh man!
I was a bit of a cry baby about that.
I would usually delete a tantrum post, but I will leave it there and let it be.
Thanks for your kind words.

I'm glad you didn't :)

These words touched the soul easily and this painting give it more magic i really like it no word can describe how magical and beautiful it is

Some very strong story-telling in your verse. I was particularly struck by this stanza and its description of the waking versus the dreaming state.

Their day stretching out
In chromatic bright lit featured editions.
As I prepare for another
Reverse monochrome,
I bid them farewell and my love.

Sometimes it is our dreams that stand out stronger and seem more us than our waking reality, isn't. It must be the softer focus on things.

Your drawings are very effective. I like the sharp angles and the eyes are very telling. A wonderful post. GBM:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52