ART EXPLOSION WEEK 59 Entry. Theme SHADOW SELF

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Ornithomancy and Ornithophobia.

Both form the construct that hangs over me.
My shadow self, my true self
The part I fear most
The part I know most true
The part I love, would love, if prepared to step through.

But from it I run, borrow time upon wing.
My own clipped long ago,
I am a passenger upon the wing of my love.

They come calling at night, from the murder we flee
From within and without, on the run with my three

Before time, beyond veil
Raven waits, to prevail

Carries me
Calls me
Warns me
Walls me.

This is a depiction of my shadow self

PSX_20190309_162104.jpg

For the art explosion.

https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-59-theme-shadow-self-20-steem-in-prizes

Here are some progress shots.

PSX_20190309_162438.jpg

PSX_20190309_162330.jpg

PSX_20190309_162239.jpg

PSX_20190309_162155.jpg

A3 graphite on paper.

PSX_20190309_162104.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

IMG_20170506_003403.jpg

Sort:  

I really like this one. Your drawings have a certain zen to them. I think its important to face the shadow and to embrace it as part of oneself. Beautiful, M

Well, I guess this means I survived the cull 😀

I had to look up cull lol, and still not exactly sure the meaning. You are a survivor 💪.

You cut back the people you follow. I didn't check if you cut me or not, when you commented on my post I figured I made it through selection. I wasn't culled.

Cull -reduce the population of (a wild animal) by selective slaughter.

Hahahaha Awesome. No, you most certainly were not culled 😁💚🙌

Wow, how much details on one painting. Very poweful. :)

Wow, Marg.

The Intro ... I read it, then re-read it, a half-dozen times. Paradoxes are Potent.

The drawing ... I studied it over and over. Very ... Egyptian. Like something from the times of the pharaohs. How you come up with this stuff in beyond me. Anyway ... I LOVED it.

Beautiful entry. If you don't win, I'll challenge the Contest Organizer to a game of chess. :-)

https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@quillfire/steemfest-4-the-whales-vs-the-minnows-chess-takedown-100-000-or-1-steem-prize

Quill


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66972.83
ETH 3505.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18