The making off.. 'double helix table'

in #art7 years ago

Hey art & woodworking lovers,

A few days back I promised to show you guys the proces of making my double helix table. Well, I think I let you guys wait long enough.. (I'm not much of a talker so here follow some photo's with a little explanation)

It al started with a tiny test piece, I turned a small block round and started by making saw cuts under an angle so the sawline spirals along the wood. Then, in tiny steps I cut along the sawline with my chisel, until I reached the core. After that a lot of strips of sandpaper did a lot of magic ;) :
IMG-20161007-WA0002.jpeg
IMG-20161007-WA0005.jpeg
IMG-20161007-WA0007.jpeg
IMG-20161007-WA0010.jpeg
IMG-20161007-WA0012.jpeg
The tiny spiral took me about 1 long day working (no 9 to 5 mentality, right ;) ).. I figured if this took me 1 day, a full scale would take me 3 max 4.. Well.. I found out about that one! Check out the real thing:
20161026_132142.jpg
20161027_091032.jpg
Now I started to figure: HOLY SNOWBALL, THIS THING IS HUGE!
20161028_125325.jpg
Oh yeah, pretty Important to know: I hollowed out the wood earlier, so I would get to the core way faster!
20161030_124929.jpg
20161031_113259.jpg
From now on it was a no brainer, listen to some jazz and enjoying the wood.. I love my work!!
20161031_143051.jpg
20161031_164154.jpg
It's starting to look like something.. (beware, the individual spirals are far from rounded, they're more like hollow round)
20161102_105914.jpg
Time goes by... so slowly..
Well, and after some finishing finishing it turned out like this:Gaaf met oud.jpg

Please, If you like my work, leave a message, it helps support my creativity and to be honest, I love to hear your opinions, maybe you have advise or maybe some questions. I would love to talk to you about working wood!

Thanks for your time and appreciation!

Sort:  

Congratulations @geldmachine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very cool. Thanks for posting!

:D you're welcome!

Fantastic. Thanks for sharing your techniques. The lathe was not spinning, right? Just holding the piece while you carved?

Nope, the lathe was not spinning, just a combination of pushing with the chisel while contra pushing the work! But eventually I started using a hammer and chisel, which also worked real good!

Thanks for sharing...... Now you got my interest perked up even more.... I am going to have to have a shot at this....... Awesome stuff....

That's awesome! Keep me posted! And some extra advise: don't give up! Keep on going! The result will be so satisfying!

Congratulations @geldmachine! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @geldmachine! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50