Ultra Spooky Acerola!

in #art6 years ago

Imgur

Hello, Steemit!

This time I wanted to do a Halloween drawing (I'm late I know) and I decided to make one about Acerola, the Ghost-type Trainer who is a Trial Captain and Elite-Four Member in the Sun/Moon and USUM series of Pokémon! I wanted to feature her with her 5 pokémons from Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon in the Elite-Four (I also decided to give her a Banetite for her Banette to be a Mega Banette, ha!) with a sixth pokémon... Mimikyu! My first inspiration was due the Ultra Spooky Cup's reward from past month Online Competition in the game, which is a Shiny Mimikyu, but I found out she actually has a Shiny Mimikyu in the anime (I don't follow the anime) nicknamed Mimikins, or Mimitan (ミミたん) in the Japanese version! So I decided to include it instead!

I decided it would be fun (and maybe useful) to show the steps of my process, so this is how I'll show my work:

  1. Spatial distribution of the composition.
  2. Description of the process of making a single character, showing the process of each one.
  3. Process of making the background.
  4. Getting all together and final result.
  5. A video/gif of the process.

So, first I started with a blank sheet and a pencil-like brush in the software Clip Studio Paint and I draw the areas where each character would be in:
Imgur

Then I proceed to do the following:

  1. Reduce the spatial distribution's opacity.
  2. Drawing with the same brush a sketch for each character, each in a separate layer.
  3. With a Real G-Pen drawing the lineart for each character.
  4. Adding a gradient to the background, from dark gray to a just a bit lighter tone of dark gray.
  5. Applying flat colors to each lineart.
  6. Adding lights and shadows to each character. I used a custom G-Pen for this instead of using brushes and two custom erasers. The custom G-Pen had 50% opacity, the first custom eraser had 0 hardness and 30% opacity and the second one was similar but had 100% opacity. I used the blending mode Multiply for the shadows and Screen for the lights, I also used Add (Glow) to add some brights (suggested by @gabo7 ).

Here is the process for each pokémon and for Acerola:

Froslass:
Imgur

Drifblim:
Imgur

Dhelmise:
Imgur

Mega Banette:
Imgur

Palossand:
Imgur

Mimikins / Mimitan:
Imgur

Acerola:
Imgur

Then I proceed to made a background. Since Mimikyu is the protagonist, and it's a Halloween theme, why not using a dark forest? Since the exclusive Mimikyu's Z-move: Let's Snuggle Forever takes place in a dark forest. I used a Texture Pen with different colors and then lowered the opacity of each layer, using Multiply and Screen blending modes, to make the final result. First I made the floor, then I made some grass with a Calligraphy Pen, then I added some bushes and then some trees. Here is the process:

Imgur

As suggested by @gabo7, I added afterwards some mud and rocks to the floor.

So, for the end, I had to integrate the composition, so I made some characters darker and added some shadows and of course a spooky mist for the end! Here is the overall process:

Imgur


Gif of the whole process:

A better quality video of the process can be found here.

Watch it on DeviantArt.


Well, thank you for reading me, I hope you liked my content! As always, questions, comments and suggestions are welcome.

GC6

Sort:  

Wow man, great art and really good post. I really appreciate the how it was created info. Can't wait to see more :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I'm glad you like it.

Really well done! Loved the Acerola and the Palossand creeping in the back, as well as the Mimikyu covering them all . The process of making it very detailed as always. A little bit late but glad it's here in the end =)

Thank you! I like the final result. Yeah, better late than never I guess.

Amazing job, keep it up!

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by GC6 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Te comentaré en español porque #AquiSeHablaVenezolanoCoño.
Genial, CRACK! sigue así y espero verte más constante por acá!
SteemOn!

Jajaja, la publicación en español vendrá eventualmente, supongo. ¡Gracias!

Congratulations @gc6! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.
You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This is such a wonderful drawing ! I love it ! The step by step is wonderfully presented and I admire the composition with so many characters !!! Gorgeous colours and detailing, also <3 A beautiful art work~

Wow, very thank you, that means a lot to me, it was a lot of work!

Wow, very thank you,
That means a lot to me, it
Was a lot of work!

                 - gc6


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Very interesting to see how you go about making this type of art. Thanks for showing the process!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49