BBC Has Just Announced New 'Doctor Who' Will Be A Woman - Jodie Whittaker

in #art7 years ago

_96965927_jodiebbc.jpg
(Stepping into the role as the new Doctor Who - Jodie Whittaker)

I have been a fan of Doctor Who since I was a young child. I've never really understood why. I'm not a sci-fi fan in general but there is something about Doctor Who that has always captivated me. It ran for decades in Britain and across the globe and ceased broadcasting in 1991.

It was then revived in 2005 and the new format had been completely updated with plenty of money thrown at it. The series has increasingly gained momentum and popularity right across the world. More money is constantly poured into the series and it shows. The sets and the CGI are never left to chance anymore. The characters and stories could easily feature in a Star Wars movie.

doctor-who.png
(All of the former actors to play Doctor Who)

The Doctor has been played by twelve different actors. For those not familiar with Doctor Who every few series the Doctor, a extraterrestrial being, regenerates so he can stay alive forever. This means he effectively transitions into someone new. Up until a few hours ago the Doctor had always been played by a male. Well today the BBC have anounced that the new doctor will be played for the first time by a woman - Jodie Whittaker.

Now I'm not a big fan of the political correctness extremism that my country, and others, are adopting. There can be no doubt that this was a political appointment. However, Jodie Whittaker is a decent actress and I like her. So I am relieved. It could have been worse. So for now I will reserve judgement until she is doing her thing with the role of the Doctor. It will be interesting to see what she brings to the role. Whether she can exceed all our expectations and prove her critics wrong remains to be seen. For the sake of one of the few television series that I follow I hope she manages to do the role justice.

2ehf50000001000.jpeg
(The Doctor, played by David Tennant, featuring arch enemies the Daleks and the Cybermen)

Sort:  

Well what next an Islamist that prays to Allah in the Tardis ? im tired of this agenda being brought into seemingly everything !! More of the same, nothing can be free of it !! keep me informed on how good or bad it is @freedomexists
!! I dont watch TV anymore, but i did as a child love watching this amazing programme !

Hi @gomeravibz,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61467.71
ETH 3435.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51