Fantasy flower - Serpentigena somniferum

in #art6 years ago

I am interested in the fantasy world, the dragons, magic and I used them for the idea of my own magic plant.
Its name became Serpentigena somniferum. Serpentigena means "sprung from a serpent" and somniferum means soporific and (poison) deadly. The seed of the plant is a sedative for dragons; for any other living thing it's a deadly poison.
The girl aquired one of the seeds in the picture, but it has no effect on the girl, because she is a wizard.

Serpentigena_image.jpg

I'm drawing this picture on wooden plank with aquarell pencils.


This is the sketch on paper with pencil.
Serpentigena_somniferum.jpg

I colorized the surface of plank with dark mordent. First I drew the color of hair. This is exceptional because I usually know only in the end what color it will be.

Serpentigena_somniferum_01.jpg

The colors of the plant I only found out when I drew, as also the girl's clothing, the pattern of bow.
Serpentigena_somniferum_02.jpg

I have drawn the parts outside the iris of the eye to the dark to show that the girl has something to do with magic.
Serpentigena_somniferum_det.jpg

The final image. Plank size: 8x8 inch.

Serpentigena_somniferum.jpg

Thank you for your watching! I hope you enjoyed it!

Links to my previously illustrations

Sort:  

Love this series of yours, @fragarixie! They are just super beautiful and very ethereal <3

upvotes and resteems

Thank you very much for your kindly comments! :)

Hello! :)

I am @ashleykalila and I am a curator for @OCD!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

Also please consider voting for our witness : @ocd-witness

✨🙌

Hello @ashleykalila!
Thank you very much, if you share my post. I'm very glad! :)
Of course I voted for @ocd-witness.

I´m in love with her

The details are absolutely stunning! I love the story behind the character and how you named the plant. It brings the image to life. I also don’t mind that this may be an older piece. I can’t wait to see more!

Thank you, I'm trying to write the next post interestingly. :)

This is amazing work. It's so rich and lush with detail. I can't believe it as done with pencil. And the pattern of the wood background is just perfect.

How long does it take to draw something like this? And do you sell your work?

Thank you!
It's easier for me to draw with a pencil than to paint it. I draw the sketch usually in one day. I make the finished picture without priming for about a week.
I like to sell my work, but I'm not so generally known with it that I can get started.

I suppose that's one way to harvest seeds...

There are plants where this is not possible otherwise. :)

So these plants are on the intersection of hunting and gathering?

So I did not think about it yet, but it is true. :)

Wow, this is phenomenal work.

Would love to see you post some stuff that is exclusive/shown first on steemit or some recent stuff that isn't on your artstation account.

thank you for your comment!
I'm sorry, I did not want to make a mistake, but I put these the pictures of the wooden planks in place because I saw others showing older jobs and otherwise the steem's audience would not know about these. In that sense, this new article is that I wrote about it in steemit in detail and uploaded non-posted images elsewhere. Now I'm confused, can not I post the rest of the series?

You havent made a mistake - of course, you can post whatever you like on here and its great to see your old work. All I am saying is that rewards for posting will be better with new work. Groups that find good posts and reward them well (see @curie for example) only tend to upvote new work.

Oh, I understand and thank you for the information!

Oooh very nice;))) the hair is incredible! it's my favorite color!:)

Thank you! I liked to draw this hair. :)

Love this... Reminds me a bit of the Dark Crystal.

Thank you! This is an honor for me, if my work is reminded of a quality motion picture. :)

Very beautiful-- you have a really great eye and vision!

Thank you very much for your praise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54