drawing process - Tacca chantrieri

in #art6 years ago

Tacca chantrieri (the black bat flower), it is an beneficial, tropical plant that is grown as a food plant. The flower got this name because it has black-purple color and the petals like as the shape of his bat.

Tacca_chantrieri_image.jpg

I'm drawing this picture on wooden plank with aquarell pencils.


Sketch on paper with pencil. The leaves that are look like tendrils appear to be vampire teeth. The girl embraces the flower bud from which the first "tendril" has come out. Her dress is different than the others, long sleeved, archaic.

Tacca_chantrieri.jpg

I wanted to create this dark mood, so I colorized the surface of plank with mordent.
Here I used the plank's surface two mordent, on the middle reddish color and on the edge of the image dark walnut color.

Tacca_chantrieri_01.jpg

The final image. The very pale complexion of the girl is in a strong contrast with the dark tone of the picture, so she attracts viewer's eyes. The red glow of the background emphasizes the dark tones of the drawing. The color of the bud was originally bright green, but it did not fit the color of the image, so I desaturated it The plank size is 8x8 inch.

Tacca_chantrieri_650.jpg

Detail photos. I used a blue color for the reflex lights.

Tacca_chantrieri_detail_02.jpg

Tacca_chantrieri_detail_01.jpg

Thank you for your watching! Ihope that you like it!

Links to my previously illustrations

Sort:  

Your attention to detail is what caught my interest most. I don't have the patience to render fine details. It's a great piece. The choice of color, the facial expression of the girl, and texture, I like it all.

Thank you very much! The wooden plank is good because it does not allow you to draw too many details. :)

That's really nice... Are you really an artist and have you made this awesome art

Thank you for your comment!

Cool :) that's me, when I was 15..

Thank you! This is great! :)

I really like it. Details of lines and shadows is awesome!

Thank you! I'm glad that you liked it!

Love the spooky, slightly goth atmosphere, especially given how innocuous the description is.

Thank you yor your comment!

Beautiful work. That girls stare is haunting.

Thank you! I'm glad, this was my goal! :)

It's so beautiful! You're talented :-) I really enjoy the dark athmosphere and the details of this drawing! I'm now following you, keep on posting stuff like these :-)

Thank you very much! I looked at your blog and I followed you! You have beautiful artworks! :)

I am in love with your work, totally @fragarixie, such attention for details is captive. Not to mention story you always present to us.

Thank you very much for your kindly words, dear @jungwatercolor! I want to work better! :)

Great post and amazing art!

I love the dark sombre quality of this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47