drawing process - Satureja hortensis

in #art6 years ago

Satureja hortensis (Summer savory) is a medicinal plant, but it is also used as spice because of its peppery smell and flavor.

Satureja_image650.jpg

I'm drawing this picture on wooden plank with aquarell pencils.


Sketch on paper with pencil.
Satureja_hortensis.jpg

I always make a sketch drawing and copy the contours on the board. From the outline, I applied the contours carefully to the board with copying paper, and I did not draw it there to keep the board as clear. I began to draw the leaves of the plant.

Satureja_hortensis_01.jpg

For girl's dress I used the colors of the flower. Then I saw that the leaves of the plant were too lively. In the final picture I drew them darker.

Satureja_hortensis_wip02.jpg

The final image. This picture has a calm mood and less vivid, finer colors. The plank size is 8x8 inch.

Satureja_hortensis_650.jpg

Detail photo. Interestingly, this meek theme is also good on this rustic surface.

Satureja_hortensis_detail.jpg

Thank you for your watching! Ihope that you like it!

Links to my previously illustrations

Sort:  

This looks so beautiful. I'm no expert in drawing and using colored pencils but the wooden plank really adds to the already gorgeous piece. Keep being an awesome artist 😊

Thank you very much for your very kindly comment! :)

I love how tranquil this one feels, @fragarixie <3 Very calm and gentle vibes with this one <3 I really admire you and your talents * ___ *

upvotes and resteems

I just love your drawings on planks, the cherub-faced little girls, combined with botanicals. They're so dreamy.
I've noticed your girls always have fairly sleek hair - have you ever drawn a head full of curls?

Blow up my mind, this art is awesome!

Wow, sooo cool! I like the delicate colours and quaint vibe of it. Very nice @fragarixie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83