(Video)Self Custom Made GOTH TWEED LACE DRESS - part 4

in #art6 years ago (edited)


dress.gif

Sunday was Lazy Day, so it was a perfect day to continue with my dress. I know, lazy day means doing nothing and relaxing, sleeping all day. For me, lazy day means doing anything I want without being interrupted. I did a lot that day and I am happy how it looks so far.

gbv.png

If you have seen my previous post, you know now that I had to shape the dress as much as possible because it really looked like a potato bag. It may look like a quick task to do, but it wasn't because I basically had to sculpt according to my own body. When you shape the dress, you have to make sure you shape it smoothly without breaks.

bnvcx.gif

I was so happy with the shape of the dress and I could finally continue with the turtle neck/collar. I bought last week black shiny elegant fabric that I wanted to use for the turtle neck/collar. I paid 5 euros for 1 meter, not bad! I measured first the neck width and draw the pattern using my measurement.

20180311_083636.jpg

20180311_083928.jpg

Then I placed the pattern of the collar on the fabric and cut the pattern out from the fabric (double).

20180311_084532.jpg

20180311_085810.jpg

The ruffle lace I have isn't so ruffled, so I created more ruffles to get more drama around my short neck.

20180311_085954.jpg

Here you see clearly the difference between the two ruffle lace.

20180311_094659.jpg

20180311_100401.jpg

I pinned the ruffle lace between the double collar and sewed it. Later on, I sewed it on to the dress.

20180311_101318.jpg

A dress made of tweed can look very boring, but if you combine it with lace and a shiny luxury fabric, the dress will drastically change in to an elegant/ high fashion dress.

20180311_101524.jpg

The back is still open because I still needed to sew an invisible zipper on to the dress.

jhgf.gif

My sewing machine has a few feet for different purposes. For zippers, I have a special foot that only is meant for zippers. You can either use the left side or the right side depending on wether you are left or right handed.

20180311_140829.jpg

In my first post I made already the pattern for the sleeves. I cut the sleeves out of the fabric using the sleeve pattern.

20180311_142816.jpg

I started with sewing the corners of the sleeves, the pointy side of the sleeves.

20180311_154238.jpg

Then I added the sleeves to the dress. It really looks funny and I still have to get used to the pointy shoulders/sleeves.

20180311_205544.jpg

20180311_205537.jpg

If you look at my design, you see that the lower sleeves have lace. That is why I cut 1/3 of the sleeves and closed the seems.

sleeves.gif

I traced 1/3 of the sleeve pattern on a different piece of paper, cut it out and cut the pattern out of the lace. The lace sleeves I sewed using a French seam. That is sewing 0,5 cm for the edge on the right side of the fabric, and then 0,5 cm from the wrong side of the fabric. A French seam gives a much cleaner look.

20180312_171012.jpg

20180312_163618.jpg

Will the dress look like my sketched design?

DQmY3N1Lp6UGKXCCfMGp4MVbHt5v4YPLT264mroknS8zGjb.jpg

I am curious myself! So stay tuned!

follow_fathin-shihab.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

The design on the sleeves are amazing

So many details. I am impressed @fathin-shihab. I like the laces a lot. The design is very nice. I am sure that your dress will look like the sketched design. I will be looking forward to the finished dress.

I like the lace details too. Thank you @diamondinform :-).

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Thank you for letting me know. I will follow you now and use tag from now on.

That's great video and post tutorials for made "LACE DRESS". You've nicely introduced here. Its very easy to pick up. Thanks for the effort. Keep going awaiting to see more creativity @fathin-shihab.

That's really coming together. I really like your fabric choice (or pattern I suppose) and the lace accent on the neck line and sleeves. Very cool design!

Yes, the combination of tweed and lace really works well. :-)Thank you @leaky20.

hahahaha, a potato bag.

its looking tight and i can see you get further and further as time passes. Keep going! I'm sure someone is going to buy it (don't know if you gonna sell it =D )

hehehe, I am not sure if someone will buy it because it's a very small dress. Maybe I will sell it. :-) Thank you!

you could make a constest or a give away or a meetup all around thats sexy dress, its gonna be a success

hehehe,thanks for being so positive :-)

Incredible its coming along nicely same as the drawing cool stuff :D

thanks @blazing, I also think it look quite similar to the sketched design :-)

it is about to look like it the same very excellent work you have done :)

not an easy task to do but you are doing so well and interestingly well done good work there cool details you have added :)

It was a lot of work yes, thanks for the nice words :-)

Ah, it's really coming together nicely! I love the soft lace details to contrast against the rigid checked tweed. Can't wait to see some of the beading added on there as well!

Thank you! I still have to think if I'm going to add beads on the sleeves too or just beads on the collar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62