Self Custom Made GOTH TWEED LACE DRESS -part 1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

2018-03-05-18_30_37_858_1.gif

I want to make a Goth Haute Couture mermaid dress that is made of checked tweed with a combination of black lace, beading work, black ribbon and maybe some leather, studs and chains. It is going to be a wild dress! All the materials you see are left overs, so I am cleaning up my working place at the same time ;-). I still need to buy meters of black ribbon, black spool of thread, a black invisible zipper and black beads.

20180305_153041.jpg

In one of my previous posts, I mentioned that I can not sketch, so I traced the body from a fashion drawing book.Then I draw the dress with the details shown (my own creation).

1520260653190.jpg

The dress itself will be made of checked tweed. On the sleeves you see some flowers at the lower part. That lower part of the sleeves will be made of black lace. The sleeve caps will be pointy, something I never made before, so I am very curious if they will look like I want them to be. I also have another sort of black lace ribbon. That will be used for the upper part of the turtle neck. The turtle neck itself will be made of black fabric/leather/ribbon and will have some beading work. To make it more GOTH, I will add strings of beads around the neck, so it will look like a necklace. The dress will have the shape of a mermaid so the lower part of the dress will be more slimming at the knees and I have to make two circles of checked tweed. Around the circle there will be black ribbon. Maybe there will be some beading work around the two circles too. I can not guarantee the dress will look exactly like this because I feel the dress can have MORE details on the upper part of the body(from neck to waist). Maybe that part will have black lace too (partly) and some beads, spread at the shoulder parts.

The Peplum belt will be made of checked tweed too, but the middle part will be made of black fabric or black ribbon. Hmm....Maybe it will be the other way around: The peplum belt made of black fabric and the middle part made of checked tweed. What do you think will look nicer?

20180305_123418.jpg

To get the desired design I needed some inspiration. It took me very long to get this design.I am not a fan of copy paste unless I want to copy paste intentionally. I have these amazing fashion magazines that mainly contains images of Haute Couture. The magazines I bought in a book shop but they are imported either from Spain or Italy. The magazines on my table are just 1/3 of my collection :-).

20180305_123448.jpg

They are very expensive in the Netherlands :-(, they cost around 11 euros each, in the early 2000's. I really wonder how much they cost now. These magazines I bought when I was still studying fashion. When you are a fashion student, you need to have rich parents or have a part time job because you need to invest in magazines, fabric, printed pictures. I don't have rich parents so I had to work, which I don't mind at all. Luckily I had a job in an Indonesian restaurant and got a good salary to be able to purchase those magazines. The magazines include images of designers outfits like Chanel, Dior, Givenchy, Emanuel Ungaro, Versace and many more.

20180305_120147.jpg

For the neck part I took my inspiration from this outfit.

20180305_124346.jpg

Probably I will do some beading work ON the dress too like this, but just a little bit.

ShoulderCol3.jpg

Pointy shoulders to make it look WILD. I am not sure how the patterns of the sleeves need to look like. In my pattern books I have not seen any sleeve pattern that will give this look. So I have to figure it out myself how the patterns will need to look like.

20180305_130426.jpg

Maybe I will attach a string of fringe at the inner part of the sleeves to make the dress extravagant!

I made a red satin blazer before and this dress will take much longer because of all the details and beading work.

DQmeUs8uDVy1HtvBknZUPB2ES2HQrn6hEUt5Y2YWv9RFMuN_1680x8400.jpg

If you haven't seen my Dtube 3D earrings yet, you can still check them out ;-)

follow_fathin-shihab.gif

Sort:  

that is so cool work..

what a creativity!!!

New Project!
Looks pretty cool.
Looks like an elaborate dress so the fact that you are using all left over materials is quite impressive.

Thanks a lot. Yes it is an elaborate dress :-). I have too many left over materials, so before buying new one , I better use what I have first. I do have to buy black ribbon and more beads.

just fabulous!!

A mermaid gown with a touch of a goth haute couture? Wow you're the best! I've seen your red satin blazer and it is so beautiful. :) are you planning to sell you're handmade items? And produce more of these?

Thank you @nepsnep! I am not sure if someone wants to buy any handmade clothes I have made since they are very small :-)

all your magazines made me remind when i was younger around 16 to 27 years old i used to buy man fashion magazines, like, GQ, mens health and others like that, it felt kinda weird always because NO MAN used to buy that stuff, at least the guys i knew, my friends, coworkers and family back then.

20 years later it became normal that man were interested on their looks, their style and be well dressed in general, even guys like Conor McGregor (top mma fighter) enjoy dressing really well, with style.

to me is a very important topic.

i hope you make a great design.

Yes, fashion is not only for women but also for men :-). It's always nice to look in magazines and get some inspiration wether you're a man or a woman.

When i started i was like "wow" all the time. "how they manage to look like that", "didnt know that would match" "nice combination omg". Then years later you get like a sense or understanding in a higher level, you get taste.

You can learn a lot about fashion in magazines ;-)

This will be looking fabulous nice design there :D

Hy! I am a bot and I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! I follow you!

You're welcome :-)

Oh my goodness... this dress is so up my alley. I can't wait to see it coming together!
For the peplum belt, I like the idea of doing it with black fabric, and using the tweed as the sash/middle, as that would give it even more drama, but it already has a lot going on, so if you wanted to keep the middle less dramatic, and keep the eye on the neck/sleeves, then obviously the tweed with black sash would be a better option.

I used to sit for hours and sketch out fashion designs, but I've never actually made any of them, just lived vicariously through my drawings. haha It must be such a feeling of accomplishment to be able to make something of your own design. And so much fun to be able to customize everything!

Thank you! :-). Yes I can't wait too! I understand, the belt in black fabric will give a dramatic look :-). I agree, but maybe I am going to attach black lace on the upper body too.... but I am not sure yet. Yes, we are like yin and yang! You can sketch fashion and I can make fashion but can not sketch :-D.

Dress is so keren @fathin-shihab. You and your post are great.

Yes, very keren ;-). Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62