Self Custom Made GOTH TWEED LACE DRESS -part 2

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20180306_181841.jpg

Today it was time to make the patterns for my Goth tweed mermaid dress. If you haven't seen the design of the dress yet, you can still check by clicking on the link.

20180306_110512.jpg

So I was curious if I still kept my basic patterns of a dress in my folder. Yes, I kept them! I made these basic patterns of a dress last year in summer. This is really my lucky day! Drawing these basic patterns takes 2-3 hours!

20180306_105401.jpg

So here you see the custom-made basic patterns of a simple straight dress. I am going to make a mermaid dress with unique sleeves, so the basic patterns need to be redesigned. I need to make the circle around the knees much smaller but not too small that I can not walk. A mermaid dress has an upside Y shape, so not straight at the bottom. Then I need to translocate the middle lines you see here on the patterns.

20180306_105429.jpg

I also need to redesign the sleeve a lot because the sleeves are going to be pointy at the shoulders and I have no idea how I have to do that!

20180306_135756.jpg

The first thing I did was translocating the middle lines you see here. I had to translocate the lines with 1.8 cm.

20180306_135854_1.gif

A woman's coat or blazer for example has a seam in the middle of the front part and a seam in the middle of the back part. These lines need to match well, so the lines from the front and the back part need to be equal.

20180306_142523_1.gif

The front and back part patterns are ready but I still had to draw a 1 cm seam around the patterns.

20180306_141644_1.gif

20180306_110000.jpg

I am happy I ordered 3 rolls of tracing paper. I remember there was a day that I run out of tracing paper while I was drawing patterns. Now I have meters of tracing paper in stock. I put them in my tracing paper storage tube. When I walk outside with this tube people often think I have a didgeridoo with me :-D.

20180306_155841.jpg

After I made the changes on the front and back parts of the patterns, I continued with the sleeve. I traced the sleeve first that existed of two patterns and connected them.

20180306_181424.jpg

I really struggled with the sleeve and kept changing things. What you see here is the final pattern of the sleeve. I made the sleeve cap extra wide and flat at the centre to get that pointy look. I am not sure if it will indeed look like I visualise it, but I will try doing it this way. If it looks awkward I need to change the sleeve again :-(. Wish me luck!

20180306_181505_1.gif

After I traced the basic patterns, making the changes and drawing the seams around all the patterns, it was time to cut the patterns. This was the easiest part of today. I still need to make patterns of the turtle neck, the two circles for below and patterns for the ruffle peplum belt. I see you in part 3!

follow_fathin-shihab.gif

Sort:  

148.png

Wow. Great article as usual. I really like the gifs - they are a nice touch, especially the drawing ones. Its neat seeing the process in a little more depth.

Thank you @leaky20. Yes, it shows some details of the work in process :-)

wow this is really amazing ..........thanks for sharing
117.jpg

Sounds easy the way you say when i read, but looking at it, it seems like rocket science😁.
It really much more technical than I thought. Do you have to do it on paper first @fathin-shihab

Wish you the best of luck.

btw i read you have a storage? must be really cool, you know it feels like a small store :P.

I used to have an online playstation store and everytime my inventory grew it felt amazing.

little question, what app do you use to make those cute gifts? those little small videos?

eager to see how this evolves =D

Thanks! It's a tube, a storage tube where I put my tracing paper inside. I use my Samsung galaxy s7 for this gif, but you can also use Giphy(Capture) app. you can download either on your pc/laptop or phone.

Thanks dear. The animated gift makes the post inmersive.

Impressive, looks very complicated! I’m just a novice when it comes to sewing. I checked out the original croquis, you’re talented and I look forward to see the final result! 😊Helen

Thank you very much @helenmunch! You still can learn sewing if you are interested :-). I am looking forward too! ;-)

My pelasure, I will do, the sewing machine is actually sitting on the kitchen table as we speak :)

That's a sign the sewing machine wants to be used :-)

i really can't do this thing :D it takes a creative minded person to do this :)

Well, I wouldn't be able too if I wouldn't go to fashion school :-). Everyone has different talents, I'm pretty sure you have a talent too, just a different talent maybe :-).

Thank you for inspiring me :)

Lots of work done in that you are very hard working :) all the best

Yes, it is hard working. thank you!

wow work is finally in process can't wait to see what you come up with :D

Now the project is coming alive it will be fantastic all the best keep it up :)

I hope so! thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45